Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
John Savage (Photo by Brad Williams)
John Savage Named 2013 Coach of the Year by LA Sports Council
By: UCLA Athletics

UCLA head baseball coach John Savage, who guided the Bruins to their first NCAA championship in baseball, has been named the 2013 Coach of the Year by the Los Angeles Sports Council.

Savage, along with select team members, will be honored during the 9th Annual LA Sports Awards, which will be held on Wednesday, March 5 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Previous Coach of the Year honorees have been Darryl Sutter, Kings (2012); Lane Kiffin, USC (2011); Bruce Arena, Galaxy (2010); Mike Scioscia, Angels (2009) and Phil Jackson, Lakers (2008).

Savage was also named the National Coach of the Year by Collegiate BaseballBaseball America, the ABCA and Perfect Game USA in 2013, earning ABCA West Region Coach of the Year honors as well. 

Last season, Savage led the Bruins to their first national title in program history, going a perfect 10-0 in the postseason. UCLA went 4-0 against national seeds in the tournament, eliminating two of them (No. 5 Cal State Fullerton, No. 1 North Carolina). At the College World Series, the Bruins' pitching staff only allowed four runs over five CWS games. In the 67-year-history of the College World Series, only one national champion gave up fewer runs than UCLA, as California allowed three in 1957. The Bruins were also the first team in CWS history to allow one run or less in each of the five games they played.

Savage helped UCLA post an overall 49-17 record in 2013, marking the second-highest single-season win total in school history. UCLA also matched a school record with 21 conference victories, finishing third in the Pac-12. The Bruins have finished in the top three in the Pac-12 Conference in each of the last eight seasons, the only Pac-12 team to do so. Overall, Savage's teams hold the top three winningest seasons in school history (2010 - 51 wins, 2013 - 49 wins, 2012 - 48 wins).

Savage has guided the Bruins to the postseason in seven of the last eight seasons and to the College World Series in three of the last four years. He became UCLA's first head coach to lead the Bruins to the finals of the College World Series in 2010 and in the last four years, his teams have collected 183 wins, a total that ranks sixth in the nation and first in the Pac-12. His winning percentage since 2010 is a staggering .712.

Additionally, Savage is one of just five coaches in college baseball history to have led his team to at least one College World Series championship, produced a No. 1 overall MLB Draft selection and coached a Golden Spikes Award winner.

The LA Sports Awards are presented annually by the Sports Council to celebrate the greatest moments of the year in sports in the Los Angeles/Orange County area. UCLA's first-ever College World Series title is also up for "2013 Greatest Moment of the Year." Fans can vote for the Bruins here.

The awards dinner and gala will be televised on Prime Ticket on Friday, March 14 at 9:30 pm PDT (with multiple airings to follow). The ceremony also will feature the presentation of the Sportsman, Sportswoman, and Sports Executive of the Year Awards.

The LA Sports Awards is a fundraiser for the non-profit Los Angeles Sports Council, which will utilize the event’s proceeds to further its mission of promoting economic development through sports in the greater Los Angeles area.  

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 30 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA