TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Sophomore Brittany Moeai has hits in eight of her last 11 games.
#4 Michigan Sends Third-Ranked Bruins to First Defeat of 2014
By: UCLA Athletics

UCLA Softball on Twitter | UCLA Softball on Facebook
2014 UCLA Softball Media Guide

LOS ANGELES - Sophomore Brittany Moeai had a pair of hits and runs batted in, sophomore Mysha Sataraka added two hits and freshman Delaney Spaulding homered for the second game in a row, but the third-ranked Bruins dropped their first contest of the season to #4 Michigan by a score of 9-4 on Wednesday at Easton Stadium.

The Bruins (17-1) had seven hits as a team. In the circle, junior Ally Carda (10-1) struck out two in five innings, allowing six runs (five earned), eight hits and two walks. Senior Jessica Hall fanned three in two innings of relief, giving up three runs, three hits and one walk.

UCLA got on the board on one swing of the bat in the first. With one out, Spaulding sent her third home run of the season out to left to put the home team up 1-0.

Michigan (14-3) stormed back with three in the third. The Wolverines loaded the bases on a walk to Lindsay Montemarano, a bunt single by Nicole Sappingfield and a single up the middle from Lyndsay Doyle. One out later, Sierra Romero doubled to right-center to bring in Montemarano and Sappingfield to give Michigan a 2-1 lead. Caitlin Blanchard followed with an RBI grounder to first to bring in Doyle with the Wolverines' third run.

UCLA pushed a run across in its half of the third. With two outs, Carda reached on a fielding error by Abby Ramirez at second, Spaulding walked and freshman Gabrielle Maurice singled to right to score Carda to make it 3-2.

In the fifth, Michigan put up another three-spot on one swing. Sappingfield led off with an infield single, Doyle reached on an error, and one out later, Romero homered to left to put the visitors up 6-2. The Wolverines added another in the sixth when Kelly Christner walked to open the inning and scored on a double down the right-field line by Lauren Sweet to make it 7-2.

The Bruins rallied in their half of the sixth, loading the bases to open the inning on a Maurice hit by pitch, a Sataraka single up the middle and a plunking of Hall. Moeai followed with a single up the middle to bring in Maurice and Sataraka to cut the Bruins' deficit to 7-4.

Two outs later, freshman Jelly Felix walked in her first collegiate at-bat to load the bases for Carda, who hit a sharp grounder to short, which was gobbled up by Romero, who stepped on the second-base bag to end the threat.

Michigan added some insurance in the seventh when Romero reached on an infield single with one out and came home on a homer by Caitlin Blanchard to make it 9-4.

The Bruins host the UCLA/CSUN Invitational this weekend at Easton Stadium, playing six times in three days. UCLA faces UNLV (5 p.m.) and Loyola Chicago (7:30 p.m.) on Friday, Loyola Chicago (2:30 p.m.) and Charleston Southern (5 p.m.) on Saturday and Bakersfield (2:30 p.m.) and Georgetown (5 p.m.) on Sunday. Free audio and live stats will be available for all six games at UCLABruins.com.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 15 - 7 (5)
Saturday, May 07
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Sunday, May 08
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Rained Out
Friday, May 20
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, May 21
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 1 - 8
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 2 - 1 (9)
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 2 - 1
Thursday, Jun 02
vs. Auburn
Oklahoma City, OK
L, 3 - 10
Saturday, Jun 04
vs. Florida State
Oklahoma City, OK
L, 4 - 8
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS