TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Sophomore Gracie Goulder recorded the Bruins' fifth walk-off of the year.
Fighting Until the End: Another Walk-Off Win for #3 UCLA
By: UCLA Athletics

UCLA Softball on Twitter | UCLA Softball on Facebook
2014 UCLA Softball Media Guide

LOS ANGELES - Trailing 4-3 entering the bottom of the seventh, the Bruins scored five times, starting with a game-tying home run by sophomore Mysha Sataraka and culminating with a walk-off, grand slam by junior Gracie Goulder, as third-ranked UCLA defeated #6 Arizona 8-4 on Sunday at Easton Stadium.

The Bruins improve to 25-1 and 2-0 in Pac-12 play, while the Wildcats fall to 23-5 and 0-2 in league action.

UCLA had eight hits at the plate and also drew 10 walks, as each player in the starting nine reached base, with eight recording one hit.

In the circle, senior Jessica Hall got the start and struck out nine in six-plus innings, allowing three runs (two earned), three walks and five hits. Hall had a 1-2-3 inning in the fifth and struck out a pair in the first, second, fourth and fifth frames. Junior Ally Carda (15-1) picked up the win in relief, giving up a run and two hits in one inning.

The Bruins jumped all over the Wildcats with three runs in the first. Junior Stephany LaRosa led things off with an opposite field homer to right, her fourth of the season, to make it 1-0. Carda followed with a single through the 5-6 hole, freshman Delaney Spaulding reached on a bunt single and Sataraka sacrificed both runners over. A sacrifice fly to left by sophomore Brittany Moeai brought home Carda to make it 2-0, with Spaulding alertly taking third. Hall then singled up the middle to plate Spaulding with the Bruins’ third run.

Arizona got one back in the second when Lauren Young homered to left-center with two outs to cut the deficit to 3-1.

The score remained 3-1 until the seventh, but not without some rallies by both teams falling by the wayside. The Bruins left a pair on base in the third and sixth and the bases loaded in the fourth. Arizona stranded two in the fourth and sixth innings.

In the seventh, the first two base runners for the Wildcats got on when Courtney Rodriguez walked and Hallie Wilson reached when a comebacker to Hall was thrown low to second by the Bruin pitcher. With Carda into the circle and a Chelsea Suitos sacrifice moving both runners up, Kellie Fox hit a homer to left to put the visitors up 4-3.

It wouldn’t be a Bruin deficit for long, as Sataraka led off the bottom of the seventh with a homer to left-center, her team-high eighth of the season, to even the score at four. One out later, Hall walked and was pinch-run for by junior Jessica Amaral. Freshman Gabrielle Maurice was hit by a pitch and freshman Jelly Felix walked to load the bases for Goulder, who slammed her first home run of the season out to center for the Bruins’ fifth walk-off victory of the year.

The Bruins and the Wildcats wrap up their three-game set on Monday at 5 p.m. at Easton Stadium. The first 300 fans in attendance will receive a free UCLA softball koozie. The contest will be televised live on Pac-12 Networks.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Feb 12
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
L, 1 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
W, 7 - 3
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 8 - 3
Friday, Feb 19
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
W, 2 - 0
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
L, 6 - 8
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
L, 5 - 10
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Thursday, Feb 25
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Feb 26
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
W, 14 - 6 (5)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 4
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
L, 7 - 11
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, May 07 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS