TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Play
UCLA Athletics
Junior Stephany LaRosa is hitting .500 with six homers in Pac-12 play.
Five for Friday: Homer Happy Bruins Bash Beavers
By: UCLA Athletics

UCLA Softball on Twitter | UCLA Softball on Facebook
2014 UCLA Softball Media Guide

LOS ANGELES - The second-ranked Bruins scored all nine of their runs on Friday via the long ball, as junior Stephany LaRosa hit two home runs and junior Ally Carda and sophomores Brittany Moeai and Mysha Sataraka also went deep in UCLA’s 9-1, six-inning victory over Oregon State at Easton Stadium.

The Bruins improve to 38-4 overall and 11-3 in Pac-12 play, while the Beavers fall to 13-25 and 3-12 in league action.

Five of UCLA’s nine hits went over the fence, as LaRosa, Moeai and sophomore Allexis Bennett each had two hits.

Senior Jessica Hall struck out seven in six innings to move to 13-2 on the year. She allowed a run, four hits and two walks. Hall struck out the side in the first and added two strikeouts in the fifth. She had 1-2-3 innings in the second, fourth and fifth.

Oregon State struck first in its initial at-bat. Kori Nishitomi and Ya Garcia were walked to open the game and Dani Gilmore followed with a double down the right-field line to plate Nishitomi with the contest’s first run. But Hall worked her way out of the third and second, no out jam by striking out the next three to end the threat.

UCLA got the run back and another in the bottom of the first. With one out, freshman Delaney Spaulding walked, stole second and came home on LaRosa’s first homer of the game to left-center, her 10th of the season, to make it 2-1.

The Bruins came up with solo shots in the fourth and fifth. Moeai led off the fourth with her second of the season to right to make it 3-1. In the fifth, Sataraka notched a two-out homer to right, her team-leading 12th of the year, to extend the advantage to 4-1.

In the sixth, UCLA invoked the mercy rule for the 11th time this season. Moeai singled up the middle to open the inning and was pinch-run for by junior Jessica Amaral. Senior Alyssa Tiumalu then laid down a sacrifice in front of the circle, but OSU pitcher Melanie Dembinski bobbled it and threw low to first, allowing Amaral to take third and Tiumalu to reach second. With freshman Robyn Corruth running for Tiumalu, junior Gracie Goulder drew a walk to load the bases.

Bennett followed with a tapper to the circle, as Dembinski came home to force Amaral for the first out of the inning. Next up was Carda, who crushed her seventh homer of the season and third grand slam of the year to right, to make it 8-1. One out later, LaRosa ended the festivities, sending her second homer of the game and 10th of the season over the wall in right to wrap up a 9-1 victory.

The Bruins and the Beavers conclude their three-game series on Saturday at 12 p.m. The game is sold out. Free audio and live stats will be available on UCLABruins.com.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Feb 12
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
L, 1 - 5
LIVE NOW
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 3:15 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Sunday, Feb 14 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 9:30 AM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Lakewood, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - 4:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Apr 03 - 2:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 24 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Monday, Apr 25 - 7:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Apr 29 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS