Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
2014 W-League champions Sarah Killion, Taylor Smith, Caprice Dydasco and Abby Dahlkemper
Killion Named Championship MVP as LA Blues Wins W-League Title
By: UCLA Athletics
UCLA's Abby Dahlkemper, Caprice Dydasco, Sarah Killion and Taylor Smith won yet another national championship, leading the LA Blues to its second consecutive USL W-League title. The Blues defeated the Washington Spirit Reserves, 6-1, in Sunday's championship match, completing an undefeated season.

On her 22nd birthday, Killion was named the W-League Championship MVP after totaling one goal and two assists. Each UCLA player contributed to the scoring. Along with Killion's offensive heroics, Dydasco scored a goal, and Smith and Dahlkemper each tallied an assist.

Smith helped put the Blues on the board first, assisting on the game's first goal by Katie Stengel in the 18th minute. Killion earned her first assist of the day on the Blues' second goal by Mele French just before halftime to give LA a 2-0 lead. The Blues scored four goals in a dominant second half. Killion scored on a direct free kick inside the right post in the 69th minute, and Dydasco followed suit in the 78th minute with a sharp-angled 20-yard shot off a Killion pass that made it 5-1 Blues. Dahlkemper's cross to Paige Nielsen for a goal in the 84th minute made the final score 6-1.

This is the second-straight W-League title for Dahlkemper, Dydasco and Killion and the second national championship in eight months for the four Bruins, who led UCLA to its first-ever NCAA title in December.

UCLA opens its 2014 season on Aug. 22 vs. Maryland at Marshall Field at Drake Stadium.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events