No. 17 Bruins Drop Series Finale to Loyola Marymount, 4-1

April 14, 2013

Box Score | Jackie Robinson Mural Unveiling
Jackie Robinson Day Photo Gallery  | Follow on Facebook

Los Angeles, Calif. - The No. 17 UCLA Baseball team fell to Loyola Marymount in the series finale on Sunday afternoon, dropping a 4-1 decision to the Lions at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

Sophomore left-hander Grant Watson suffered the loss for UCLA, dropping to 5-2 on the year. Watson allowed six hits in 5.1 innings pitched, giving up two runs (one earned) while striking out three. Patrick McGrath earned the win for the Lions after allowing one run on three hits in five innings pitched. Bret Dahlson earned the save after pitching a scoreless ninth.

Loyola Marymount took an early lead in the top of the first, when Colton Plaia singled to left off of Watson to score David Edwards and give the Lions a 1-0 lead. The Lions then made it 2-0 in the top of the third, when Edwards scored on an error at third base by sophomore Kevin Kramer. Kramer would make up for it though, as in the bottom of the fourth he cut the deficit in half with a solo shot to right, making it 2-1 Lions going to the fifth.

In the top of the sixth inning, Loyola Marymount threatened again. After back-to-back singles with one out chased Watson, junior Ryan Deeter came in and got Chris Barnett to fly out to center for the second out. Sophomore Max Schuh gave up a walk in the next at-bat to load the bases, causing head coach John Savage to bring in freshman James Kaprielian from the bullpen. However, Kaprielian induced a ground ball up the middle from Kevin Garcia and was able to get the final out of the inning with help from a nice play at short from junior Pat Valaika.

The Lions would find their insurance runs in the top of the eighth though, scoring two runs on a RBI single by Zac Fujimoto and a RBI double by Joey Boney, making the score, 4-1, Loyola Marymount. The Bruins looked to have something going in the bottom of the ninth as they put runners at first and third with nobody out, but they could not bring any runs home and the Lions took home the 4-1 victory.

Kramer led the Bruins with a 1-4 day while juniors Brian Carroll, Pat Gallagher and Brenton Allen each recorded a hit as well. Senior Cody Regis singled in the fourth inning for UCLA's only other hit of the ballgame.

Before the game, UCLA honored the legacy of Jackie Robinson with a pre-game ceremony recognizing his accomplishments and an unveiling of a new mural of Robinson. Allen spoke about Robinson's legacy before the game, and was joined by mural artist Mike Sullivan and former UCLA great Tim Leary in celebrating Jackie Robinson Day at the ballpark. Promotions surrounding the new movie 42 also took place during the game.

The Bruins (22-10) will be on the road all of next week starting with a Tuesday night matchup at UC Irvine (23-9) at 6:30 p.m.

Game Notes: Sophomore David Berg lowered his ERA to a team-leading 1.03 with his scoreless ninth inning today...Berg has also not allowed a run in his last six appearances (8.2 total innings)...with his hit by pitch in the eighth, Eric Filia has now reached base safely in his last 12 games...UCLA's pitchers posted a combined ERA of 1.67 in the three-game series against Loyola Marymount...with his three assists today, Pat Valaika extended his consecutive games without an error streak to 22.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS