Bruins Fall to USC in Pac-10 Volleyball Finale

Nov. 21, 2003

Final Stats

LOS ANGELES - UCLA dropped its Pac-10 women's volleyball finale on Friday night at USC's Lyon Center, falling 30-20, 30-24, 30-22. Colby Lyman led the Bruins with 14 points in the match, including a career-high four service aces. The eighth-ranked Bruins fall to 21-7 (12-6 Pac-10), while the top-ranked Women of Troy remain perfect with a 27-0 (18-0 Pac-10) record.

USC started quickly on it senior night, scoring the first four points of the game before a Colby Lyman kill got the Bruins on the board. UCLA would fight back to tie the game at six-all, and would stay within two points until the Women of Troy put together two three-point runs to take a 17-14 lead and prompt UCLA head coach Andy Banachowski to take is final time out of the game. His team responded, as the Bruins scored four straight points to get back in the game at 17-15. Unfortunately, USC bounced back immediately, posting a five-point run of its own, taking a seven-point lead before closing out the opening game of the match 30-20. In that opening game, the Bruins hit just .065 as a team while the Women of Troy posted a .545 team attack percentage.

The Bruins started the second game on a much better note, taking an early 3-1 lead. USC came back to tie the game at five-all, and the teams stayed within two points of each other, including eight ties until USC started to pull away at 21-18, at which time Banachowski called his first time out of the game. UCLA responded, coming out of the time out with a Colby Lyman kill, but USC would continue to roll, taking a two games to none lead to the locker room with a 30-24 second game victory. Junior libero Chrissie Zartman recorded 11 digs in the second game of the match. After two games, Colby Lyman and Brittany Ringel were tied for the team lead with six kills apiece.

A Cira Wright kill opened game three for the Bruins, but USC stormed right back, sprinting to a 7-2 lead when the Bruins took their first timeout of the game. From that , the Bruins got back to within three points, but from that point the story was much the same as game one, with USC putting together a five-point run before Banachowski called his second and final time out. Becky Green stopped the USC run with a kill coming out of the time out, but USC continued to pull away, eventually taking a 24-14 lead before the Bruins put together three straight points to close to 24-17, when the Women of Troy called a time out for the first time in the match, but UCLA was unable to close the gap any further as USC won the game 30-22.

Colby Lyman led the Bruins in the match with 14 points on nine kills with a team-high .389 attack percentage, four service aces and two block assists. Junior libero Chrissie Zartman had 20 digs in the match, leading all players.

The Bruins return to action on Tuesday night, Nov. 25, with their final regular season match of the 2003 season, traveling to Malibu, CA, for a 7 pm match against No. 4 Pepperdine.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS