Women's Volleyball Earns Five-Game Win over Oregon State

Oct. 23, 2004

Final Stats

CORVALLIS, Ore. - The 12th-ranked UCLA women's volleyball team earned its first five-game victory of the 2004 season, topping Oregon State 23-30, 30-25, 27-30, 20-24, 15-7. UCLA had four players with double-figure kills in the match, led by senior Brynn Murphy with 21. With the victory, the Bruins improve to 13-5 (6-3 Pac-10), while Oregon State falls to 8-10 (2-7 Pac-10) with the loss.

After winning two of the first three games, OSU appeared to have most of the momentum heading into game four, but the Bruins rallied back behind the serve of Becky Green.

With the score knotted at 19 in game four, Green served seven straight points for UCLA to put the game out of reach. Bruin middle blocker Nana Meriwether helped the cause with four blocks in the stretch.

Green's serve once again hurt the Beavers in the final game, as UCLA took a 7-0 lead out of the gate.

UCLA had four players reach double figures in kills, led by Brynn Murphy's 21. The Bruins held a slim .232 to .205 hitting advantage on the night, but out-blocked the Beavers 11-9. Oregon State held the advantage in kills (75-74) and digs (88-84).

UCLA was piloted on Friday night by sophomore setter Tammy Jackson, who played in place of senior co-captain Krystal McFarland, who sprained her right ankle in Thursday night's match at Oregon. It was Jackson's first career start, and she had a career-high 64 assists in the match. Murphy was joined in double figure kills by Becky Green with 12 kills to go with two service aces, Nancy Barba with 11 kills and Nana Meriwether with 10 kills and eight blocks.

Chrissie Zartman became the Pac-10's leader in career digs, recording 25 digs in the match to reach 1,708 in her UCLA career. Colby Lyman and Jackson also had double figure kills with 16 and 14, respectively.

UCLA returns to action with a three-match homestand this week, beginning with a Tuesday match against Pepperdine before the Bruins play host to Arizona State and Arizona on Friday and Saturday, respectively. All three matches are scheduled to begin at 7 pm.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS