Bruin Quartet Helps U.S. U-23s Win Four Nations Tournament

March 7, 2013

Four UCLA women's soccer players - sophomores Sarah Killion and Samantha Mewis, junior Jenna Richmond and senior Zakiya Bywaters - helped lead the U.S. Under-23 Women's National Team to the tournament title at the Four Nations Tournament in La Manga Spain. The U.S. swept through the competition, defeating Norway (3-1), Sweden (6-0) and England (2-1).

All four Bruins played in the 6-0 win over Sweden on Mar. 2, with Mewis, Killion and Bywaters getting starts. Mewis assisted on the first goal of the game in the 2nd minute and scored one of her own in the 71st minute. Bywaters also scored a goal in the 43rd minute.

Killion started in each game, Bywaters started in the Sweden and England contests, and Mewis earned a start against Sweden and came off the bench in the other two games. Richmond played in the Norway and Sweden games.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS