Elaine Zivich Named Women's Water Polo Player of the Year
May 24, 2000

NORRISTOWN, Pa. - The American Water Polo Coaches Association announced the 2000 All-America team Wednesday with UCLA sophomore Elaine Zivich earning Player of the Year accolades. In addition, six Bruins received All-America acclaim.

Sophomore Elaine Zivich (Lompoc, Calif./ Cabrillo) picked up first-team All-America acclaim for the second straight year. The sophomore attacker, who earned Tournament MVP honors at the Collegiate Nationals after helping guide the Bruins to their fourth national crown, was the team's second-leading scorer with 54 goals. Also earning first-team honors was senior captain and U.S. National Team member Catharine von Schwarz (Annapolis, MD/ St. Mary's), who ranks fourth on the team with 42 goals. von Schwarz, who picks up her fourth All-American honor in as many years, is the first female athlete at UCLA to ever win four national championships.

Sophomore transfer Kelly Heuchan (Perth, Australia/ U. of Western Australia) and freshman Jessica Lopez (Commerce, Calif./ Bell Gardens) received second-team honors. Heuchan was the team's leading-scorer with 57 goals, while Lopez ranked fourth on the team with 44 goals.

Freshman Jaime Hipp (Fresno, Calif./ Edison) was UCLA's only third-team selection. The 6-0 goalkeeper held a 4.52 goals against average and was named to the Collegiate National Tournament second-team after pulling down 10 saves in UCLA's 11-4 win over USC in the title game.

Senior Erin Golaboski (Severna Park, MD/ Severna Park), who is tied for fourth on the team with 42 goals, received honorable mention acclaim.

Following is the complete list of honors:

Division I

Coach of the Year     Dan McOsker       University of Massachusetts
Player of the Year    Elaine Zivich     University of California, Los Angeles

First Team

Elaine Zivich           University of California, Los Angeles
Catherine von Schwarz   University of California, Los Angeles
Aniko Pelle             University of Southern California
Nina Wengst             University of Southern California
Margie Dingeldein       Stanford University
Katie Grogan            University of Massachusetts
Fana Fuqua, Goalie      University of California, Berkeley

Second Team

Larisa Baltgalvis       San Diego State University
Beth Irwin              University of California, Berkeley
Collette Glinkowski     University of California, Berkeley
Adele MacCarthy-BeauvaisPrinceton University
Kelly Heuchan           University of California, Los Angeles
Jessica Lopez           University of California, Los Angeles
Jackie Frank, Goalie    Stanford University

Third Team

Tiffany Hodgens         University of California, Davis
Kris Koblik             Stanford University
Stacy Black             Long Beach State University
Marci Hupp              University of Massachusetts
Neva West               San Jose State University
Julie Gardner           Stanford University
Jamie Hipp, Goalie      University of California, Los Angeles

Honorable Mention

Erin Golaboski          University of California, Los Angeles
Lynn Nisbet             University of California, Santa Barbara
Jen Durley              University of Southern California
Claudia Clement         University of Massachusetts
Cassie Nichols          Princeton University
Katrim Diefolf          University of Southern California
Kelly Shouey            Stanford University
Lisa De Rossi           University of Hawaii
Anne-Marie Keenan       Stanford University
Sandra Milicev          University of Southern California
Molly Smith             University of the Pacific
Kaliya Young            University of California, Berkeley
Lucy Windes             Loyola Marymount University
Karin Umemura           University of Hawaii
Curran Teigen, Goalie   San Diego State University
Dana Sinkwich, Goalie   University of Massachusetts
Goga Vukmirovic, Goalie Princeton University

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events