Bruins Post 9-1 Win Over Oklahoma in NCAA Regional

June 4, 2004

Box Score

Casey Janssen held second-seeded Oklahoma to two hits over the first eight innings as third-seeded UCLA (34-27) shut down the Sooners, 9-1 in its first game of the NCAA Regional at Oklahoma City, Oklahoma in front of 7,792 fans at SBC Bricktown Ballpark.

Janssen struck out seven batters and walked only one as he picked up his tenth win of the season. He is the first Bruin to post 10 wins in a season since Josh Karp in 2000. The senior from Huntington Beach never allowed a runner past first base.

The Bruins got on the board in the top of the second inning as a lead-off double from Wes Whisler turned into UCLA's first run. After doubling to left field, Whisler moved to third on a balk. He would then score on a wild pitch to give the Bruins a 1-0 lead.

In the third, a lead-off single from Mike Svetlic got the rally started for UCLA. Jarrad Page followed him with a single through the right side to give the Bruins runners at the corners with no outs. After an out, Brett McMillan brought Svetlic in on a single. Heading into the bottom of the inning, UCLA led 2-0.

Whisler would add to the Bruin tally in the top of the sixth inning with a two-run homer. It drove in McMillan who had walked to lead-off the frame. The round-tripper was the seventh on the year for the junior and marked the second consecutive game he had hit a home run in.

In the top of the eighth, UCLA would once again increase its advantage, posting five runs in the inning. With one out, Ryan McCarthy was hit by a pitch. After McCarthy stole second, the Sooners would intentionally walk Whisler. Preston Griffin's single through the right side would bring McCarthy in from second and leave runners at the corners. Whisler would once again score on a wild pitch before a single from Matt Thayer brought in Griffin from second. Thayer would move to second on a single from Svetlic before the Bruins loaded the bases when Page walked. Billy Susdorf then brought two more Bruins home on a double to right field.

Whisler was 2-for-4 on the day with three runs scored. Thayer and Svetlic each had two hits, while Susdorf and Whisler led the team with two RBI.

The Bruins will face-off with top-seeded Florida (41-20) at 1:00 local time tomorrow. The winner of the game will go on to play on Sunday at 4:00, while the loser will play an elimination game at 5:00.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS