NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
UCLA Water Polo Qualifies For NCAA Final Four

Nov. 26, 2001

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The NCAA Men's Water Polo Committee announced Sunday evening the four teams participating in the National Collegiate Championship, which will be held next Saturday and Sunday (Dec. 1-2) at Stanford's Avery Aquatic Complex.

UCLA (15-4) was awarded the sole at-large berth to the tournament and will face Loyola Marymount (14-13), champions of the Western Water Polo Association, in the second semifinal match. Top-seeded Stanford (20-1) will meet Massachusetts (28-5) in the opener at 1 p.m. on Saturday afternoon. The semifinal losers play off for third place at 1 p.m. Sunday, followed by the natonal championship match at 2:30.

The Bruins enter the tournament as two-time defending NCAA champions and have won the title seven times in all.

UCLA earned its third consecutive trip to the Final Four after posting a third-place finish at the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Championships at UC Berkeley. The Bruins defeated Long Beach State 7-6 in overtime yesterday (Nov. 25) as Brett Ormsby (Fr., El Cajon/Valhalla) converted a four-meter penalty shot at the end of the first extra period.

Ormsby leads the team with 38 goals this season while goalkeeper Brandon Brooks (Jr., Honolulu, HI/Punahou) has posted a 5.90 goals-against average.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events