Third-ranked Bruins Travel to Stanford Tournament

Oct. 14, 2004

UCLA's defending NCAA champion women's golf team travels to the Stanford/Pepsi Intercollegiates this weekend for an important regional competition.

The tournament will be played at the Stanford Golf Course, Oct. 15-17. Par is 72 over 6,168 yards. The 18-team field includes No.3 UCLA, No.5 Washington, ninth ranked Arizona State, 11th ranked New Mexico and No.14 Texas.

"We are looking forward to a great event at Stanford," said Head Coach Carrie Forsyth. "It has always been one of our favorite venues, and although changes have been made to the course layout this season, we are excited to see how we fare on the new design."

All-Americans Susie Mathews and Charlotte Mayorkas finished second and tied for third, respectively, at the Bruins' last event, the Mason Rudolph Championship. Mathews was one-under for the tournament (215) and Mayorkas was one over par (217).

The Bruins' third All-American, sophomore Hannah Jun, tied for 16th place at five-over par 221.

Freshman Amie Cochran and senior Melissa Martin complete the UCLA fivesome for this tournament. Cochran leads the team in scoring at 73.8 in nine rounds. She tied for eighth at the Fall Preview and boasts two rounds under par. Martin, who redshirted last season, will be making her first collegiate appearance since the 2003 NCAA Championships. She brings 87 career collegiate rounds to the lineup, including participation in three NCAA Championships, three NCAA Regional events and three Pac-10 Tournaments.

Competing as a individual will be freshman Vanessa Brockett, who earned a spot on the travel roster in the Bruins' first three events and saw six of her nine rounds count in team scoring. She posted a collegiate best score of 70 in the second round of the Fall Preview.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Monday, Feb 08
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 09
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
T-5th (+26, 878)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Monday, Feb 22
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
T-6th (+17, 881)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Friday, May 20 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 21 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 22 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 23 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, May 25 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS