Third-ranked Bruins Travel to Stanford Tournament

Oct. 14, 2004

UCLA's defending NCAA champion women's golf team travels to the Stanford/Pepsi Intercollegiates this weekend for an important regional competition.

The tournament will be played at the Stanford Golf Course, Oct. 15-17. Par is 72 over 6,168 yards. The 18-team field includes No.3 UCLA, No.5 Washington, ninth ranked Arizona State, 11th ranked New Mexico and No.14 Texas.

"We are looking forward to a great event at Stanford," said Head Coach Carrie Forsyth. "It has always been one of our favorite venues, and although changes have been made to the course layout this season, we are excited to see how we fare on the new design."

All-Americans Susie Mathews and Charlotte Mayorkas finished second and tied for third, respectively, at the Bruins' last event, the Mason Rudolph Championship. Mathews was one-under for the tournament (215) and Mayorkas was one over par (217).

The Bruins' third All-American, sophomore Hannah Jun, tied for 16th place at five-over par 221.

Freshman Amie Cochran and senior Melissa Martin complete the UCLA fivesome for this tournament. Cochran leads the team in scoring at 73.8 in nine rounds. She tied for eighth at the Fall Preview and boasts two rounds under par. Martin, who redshirted last season, will be making her first collegiate appearance since the 2003 NCAA Championships. She brings 87 career collegiate rounds to the lineup, including participation in three NCAA Championships, three NCAA Regional events and three Pac-10 Tournaments.

Competing as a individual will be freshman Vanessa Brockett, who earned a spot on the travel roster in the Bruins' first three events and saw six of her nine rounds count in team scoring. She posted a collegiate best score of 70 in the second round of the Fall Preview.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Monday, Feb 08
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 09
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
T-5th (+26, 878)
Sunday, Feb 21 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Monday, Feb 22 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - All Day PST
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Monday, Feb 29 - All Day PST
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - All Day PST
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Wednesday, Mar 23 - All Day PST
vs. SDSU Farms ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Sunday, Apr 03 - All Day PST
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Friday, Apr 08 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Saturday, Apr 09 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - All Day PST
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Monday, Apr 18 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Thursday, May 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Friday, May 06 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS