Rustich's Complete Game Leads Bruins Over Cal State Northridge 7-1

Feb. 13, 2005

Box Score

NORTHRIDGE, Calif. - Sophomore Brant Rustich was masterful, pitching a complete game, allowing just one unearned run in the seventh inning, and UCLA hit its first two home runs of the season in a 7-1 victory over Cal State Northridge Sunday afternoon at Matador Field. For Rustich, the victory was his first of the season and the complete game was the first of his career.

Junior first baseman Brett McMillan connected for a three-run home run in the Bruins' four-run fifth inning and sophomore designated hitter Hector Ambriz followed with a solo shot of his own in the seventh. The pair of round-trippers were the first for UCLA, who was held homerless through the first eight games of the 2005 season.

Ambriz finished 4-for-5 at the plate with a run scored and two RBI while sophomore left fielder Will Penniall followed Saturday's game-winning hit with a 4-for-6 performance which left him just a home run shy of the cycle.

UCLA, now 6-3, has won four straight games, including Saturday night's 5-4 marathon, come-from-behind victory against the Matadors (2-3-1).

Sunday's game remained scorleess until the fifth inning when UCLA broke through for four runs. Sophomore center fielder Jarrad Page plated UCLA's first run when he scored from third on Penniall's RBI bunt single. The next batter, McMillan, gave the Bruins a 4-0 lead when he sent a Jimmy Brettl fastball deep over the right field wall.

Cal State Northridge scored its only run of the game in the seventh on Drew Aguilar's RBI single which brought around shortstop Raymond Ravago. Ravago had reached earlier in the inning on a throwing error by Rustich, thus accounting for the unearned run.

UCLA padded its lead in the eighth with four more hits, including RBI singles from McMillan and Ambriz. McMillan finished with a career-high tying four RBI.

Rustich struck out five batters while allowing eight hits and facing a total of 38 batters.

Brettl (0-1) suffered the defeat for CSUN after allowing five runs (four earned) on eight hits over 6.1 innings.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS