Bruins Come Up Short Against No. 3 USC

April 18, 2006

LOS ANGELES - The 15th-ranked UCLA women's tennis team came up just short against third-ranked USC on Tuesday, dropping a tight 4-3 decision at the Marks Tennis Stadium on the campus of USC. With the loss, UCLA falls to 13-5 overall, while the Women of Troy improve to 16-3. The result does not count in the Pac-10 standings, as Tuesday's showdown was a makeup from a previously scheduled non-conference match earlier in the year. The two teams will play the conference match this Friday at the Los Angeles Tennis Center beginning at 1:30 p.m.

USC jumped on the Bruins early, taking the doubles point with wins at court Nos. 2 and 3. UCLA's Laura Gordon and Riza Zalameda picked up a 9-7 win over Dianne Matias and Carine Vermeulen at court No. 1, however by then the point had already been decided.

UCLA headed into singles play needing four wins to pull off the upset. Sophomore Tracy Lin put the Bruins on the board when she downed Luana Magnani, 6-2, 6-1 at court No. 3. Following a USC win by Lindsey Nelson at court No. 1, UCLA's Ashley Joelson gave the Bruins their second point of the day, defeating Anca Anastasiu, 6-2, 6-2 at court No. 5.

With the dual match tied at 2-2, USC took a 3-2 lead when Vermeulen posted a 7-6, 6-3 decision over Bruin sophomore Elizabeth Lumpkin at court No. 6. The Women of Troy clinched the match at court No. 2, where Amanda Fink battled back from a set down to defeat Zalameda, 4-6, 6-4, 6-0.

In the final match of the afternoon, UCLA's Alex McGoodwin posted a 6-4, 2-6, 6-4 victory over Matias at the No. 4 position.

Doubles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.(25) Gordon/Zalameda (UCLA) def. Matias/Vermeulen (USC)9-7
2.(22) Magnani/Nelson (USC) def. Lumpkin/McGoodwin (UCLA)8-5
3.Judy DeVera/Fink (USC) def. Joelson/Lin (UCLA)8-3
USC Wins Doubles Point

Singles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.(52) Lindsey Nelson (USC) def. (20) Laura Gordon (UCLA)6-4, 6-4
2.(9) Amanda Fink (USC) def. Riza Zalameda (UCLA)4-6, 6-4, 6-0*
3.(45) Tracy Lin (UCLA) def. (47) Luana Magnani (USC)6-2, 6-1
4.(108) Alex McGoodwin (UCLA) def. (25) Dianne Matias (USC)6-4, 2-6, 6-4
5.(106) Ashley Joelson (UCLA) def. Anca Anastasiu (USC)6-2, 6-2
6.Carine Vermeulen (USC) def. Elizabeth Lumpkin (UCLA)7-6, 6-3
* Denotes Clinching Match - Singles Order of Finish: 3, 1, 5, 6, 2, 4

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Friday, May 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS