NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
Kern Wins Second Annual Peter J. Cutino Award

Dec. 18, 2000

LOS ANGELES, Calif. -- For the second straight year, UCLA men's water polo player Sean Kern has been named the recipient of the Peter J. Cutino Award, an honor intended to be water polo's equivalent of football's Heisman Trophy.

Kern (Honolulu, Hawaii/Punahou HS) will receive the award at a ceremony to be held at the Olympic Club in San Francisco on Saturday, Jan. 20, 2001. Aniko Pelle of USC will be honored as the top female water polo player.

Kern, a 2000 Olympian, helped lead the Bruins to their second NCAA title in a row on December 3rd. He was named the NCAA Tournament's most valuable player for the second straight year after scoring four goals on the weekend. He also earned Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Player of the Year and first-team all-conference honors and was named to the NCAA and MPSF All-Tournament teams. He is a three-time All-American and the 1999 NCAA Player of the Year. Kern finished the season with 33 goals in 17 games.

The Cutino award was created in the name of former Cal and Olympic Club coach Pete Cutino and was voted upon by a distinguished panel of collegiate coaches.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events