Kelly Rulon Named UCLA/MET-Rx Student-Athlete of the Week

May 15, 2006

Junior driver Kelly Rulon (Point Loma, CA/University of San Diego HS) of the UCLA Women's Water Polo team was selected as the UCLA/MET-Rx Student-Athlete of the Week (May 8-14).

Rulon was selected the Most Valuable Player of the NCAA Tournament after leading UCLA to its second consecutive and fourth overall NCAA title. She scored 11 goals in the three games to set a new NCAA Tournament record. In the 9-8 championship victory over USC, Rulon scored four goals and set up the game-winner by drawing an ejection foul with four seconds to play. Rulon had three goals in the 8-5 semifinal win over top-ranked Stanford and scored four in the first round against Hartwick in a 15-2 win.

This is Rulon's first UCLA/MET-Rx Student-Athlete of the Week honor of the season and second of her career.

Also nominated: Haythem Abid, M. Tennis; Caitlin Benyi, Softball; Chris Jensen, Baseball; Chelsea Johnson, W. Track & Field; Boldizsar Kocsor, M. Track & Field; Susie Mathews, W. Golf; Jane Park, W. Golf; Riza Zalameda, W. Tennis.

Visit the UCLA/MET-Rx Student-Athlete of the Week Archive.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
W, 23 - 2
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
W, 25 - 3
Saturday, Apr 09
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 8
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 16 - 6
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 8 (3OT)
Friday, Apr 29
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
W, 10 - 3
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Stanford
Bakersfield, CA
L, 3 - 6
Sunday, May 01
vs. California
Bakersfield, CA
W, 7 - 5
Friday, May 13
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 17 - 4
Saturday, May 14
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 7
Sunday, May 15
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS