TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
The Road To Tulsa
By: UCLA Athletics

Day #3 - May 20, 2004

Today was the first day of official practice for the tournament at the actual facility. We were scheduled for a practice session at 12:30 p.m. and another one at 6:30 p.m. Since we are scheduled for a 6:00 p.m. match on Saturday, the later practice was the one we were focusing on because that was the time of day we would actually be playing.

Tulsa just recently built a brand new $12 million tennis facility and it is spectacular. They have 12 outdoor tennis courts and a beautiful indoor complex with six indoor courts. It is extremely spacious with plenty of viewing room for everyone. I think it is going to be a great tournament for both the players and fans.

We got a light first hit just to get used to the court speed and conditions before heading back to the hotel for lunch. The afternoon was very relaxed and the team spent it doing non-tennis related things. Many of them rested, caught up on some homework, watched TV and even got a card game going. The highlight of the afternoon was following our women's team over the in their Sweet 16 showdown with No. 6-ranked in Athens, Georgia. The women played the Trojans twice during the regular season, losing both, but today was a different story. The Bruins came out on top and we were excited to see Coach Sampras Webster and Company advance to the Elite 8 to face the Miami Hurricanes.

We left the hotel at 5:45 pm for our afternoon practice session. Coach Ryan stretched and warmed up the entire team in the indoor courts and then started on court practice at 6:30 p.m. It was a little cooler and the wind was still quite active but I think everyone is used to it by now. After playing some singles and doubles points, we concluded practice.

After having dinner at Macaroni Grill, we had a short team meeting to go over tomorrow's schedule, game plan and went to bed.

From Tulsa!

-Coach

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS