Three Soccer Players Named Preseason Hermann Award Candidates

Aug. 16, 2001

CHARLOTTE, N.C., -- The Hermann Foundation and TEAMtalk, Inc., have announced the 13 men and 13 women candidates for the 2001 Hermann Trophy, college soccer's oldest and most prestigious player of the year award.

The men's candidates are: the University of Connecticut's Chris Gbandi, Indiana's Pat Noonan, SMU's Mohamed Fahim and Carl Bussey, Virginia's Kyle Martino and Alecko Eskandarian, Penn State's Ricardo Villar, Saint Louis' Brad Davis, Clemson's Oguchi Onyewu, Stanford's Lee Morrison, Bradley's Gavin Glinton, Furman's John Barry Nusum, and UCLA's Alex Yi.

The women's candidates are: Santa Clara's Danielle Slaton and Aly Wagner, Penn State's Christie Welsh, Florida's Abby Wambach, BYU's Aleisha Cramer, UCLA's Mary-Frances Monroe and Stephanie Rigamat, Portland's Lauren Orlandos, North Carolina's Danielle Borgman and Jena Kluegel, Washington's Hope Solo and Texas A&M's Nicky Thrasher.

The candidates were chosen by a ballot of Division I college coaches and selected media. In a twist added to the selection process this year, two spots on the final ballot will remain open until Oct. 1. At that time, a poll of coaches and media will be conducted to add the final two names to each of the 15-player ballots before the final voting is conducted. This is to ensure that any player having a stellar season will be eligible to win the prestigious player of the year award.

Final ballots will be distributed to all Division I college coaches, tabulated, and three men and three women finalists will be announced on Dec. 1. The winners of the 2001 Hermann Trophy will be announced at the College Cups, the women on Dec. 8 in Dallas, Texas, and the men on Dec. 15 in Columbus, Ohio.

The Hermann Trophy, soccer's equivalent of the Heisman Trophy, has been given annually since 1967 to the nation's best male college soccer player. The women's award has been presented each year since 1988. The Hermann Trophy is named for Robert R. Hermann, the former Chairman of the Executive Committee of the old North American Soccer League and one of that ground-breaking league's founders.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 29 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO
Sunday, Dec 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO