Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Seth George Places Third in MAC Award Voting
By: UCLA Athletics

December 8, 1998

LOS ANGELES - UCLA senior forward Seth George (Mission Viejo/Santa Margarita HS) placed third in voting for the 1998 Missouri Athletic Club Collegiate Soccer Player of the Year Award, which was won by Duke senior Jay Heaps. George's third-place showing was the highest by a UCLA player since Paul Caligiuri was runner-up in 1986. The MAC Award honors the top American-born or naturalized player.

George received 154 points and 24 first-place votes in finishing behind Heaps (228, 51) and Indiana's Lazo Alavanja (195, 39). George, who was just recently named the MPSF Co-Player of the Year, finished his UCLA career ranked fifth in career goals (49) and sixth in career points (125). He led the team in all scoring categories this season, totalling 15 goals, eight assists, eight game-winning goals and 38 points.

UCLA junior midfielder Sasha Victorine (Corona/Rio Americano HS in Carmichael) finished eighth with 87 points and 10 first place votes. Victorine, UCLA's midfield general and team co-captain, finished the 1998 season with two goals and seven assists.

Below are the results of the voting, which was done by collegiate coaches. Each first-place vote is worth three points, each second-place vote is worth two points and each third-place vote is worth one point:

Name                School      Points (First-Place Votes) 
Jay Heaps           Duke        228    (51) 
Lazo Alavanja       Indiana     195    (39) 
Seth George         UCLA        154    (24) 
Nick Garcia         Indiana     106    (16) 
Bobby Rhine         Connecticut 103    (15) 
Richard Mulrooney   Creighton    94    (20) 
Matt Chulis         Virginia     89    (13) 
Sasha Victorine     UCLA         87    (10) 
Tony Soto           SMU          80    (11) 
Keith Beach         Maryland     59    ( 8)
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events