Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Women's Soccer Beat Wildcats, 1-0
By: UCLA Athletics

October 4, 1998

HONOLULU, Hawaii -The UCLA Bruins edged past the Villanova Wildcats,1-0, in the second match of the 1998 Outrigger Hotels & Resorts No Ka Oi Womens soccer tournament at Ala Wai Field on Oahu. UCLA, ranked 18th in the current National Soccer Coaches Association of America Top 25 NCAA I Womens poll, scored early, but not often, despite out-shooting the Wildcats, 25-to-2. The Bruins also took 14 corner kicks, to Villanovas one.

Just 4:50 into the first period, a pair of freshman teamed to give the Bruins the decisive margin. Striker Staci Duncan (San Jose, Calif.) took a Vanessa Clark (Upland, Calif.) cross from the left flank and fired-off her shot from about eight yards out. Duncan leads the squad with six goals and 17 points in 11 matches.

Villanova keeper Janel Schillig (Marlton, NJ) played valiantly, saving 11 in a losing effort. For Schillig, the high-save count was not her first of the year. Her 25 saves against 2nd-ranked Notre Dame on Sept. 20 is the highest single-game total in NCAA Womens soccer this season.

TOMORROWS MATCH The Bruins (9-1-1) face host Hawaii (7-1-0) tomorrow night at 7:00 pm at Ala Wai Field in the final match of the Outrigger No Ka Oi. The Wahine enter the match riding a six game home win streak.

UCLA (9-1-1)		1
Villanova (4-6-2)	0
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Cary, NC
Sunday, Dec 06 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Cary, NC