Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Women's Soccer Beat Wildcats, 1-0
By: UCLA Athletics

October 4, 1998

HONOLULU, Hawaii -The UCLA Bruins edged past the Villanova Wildcats,1-0, in the second match of the 1998 Outrigger Hotels & Resorts No Ka Oi Womens soccer tournament at Ala Wai Field on Oahu. UCLA, ranked 18th in the current National Soccer Coaches Association of America Top 25 NCAA I Womens poll, scored early, but not often, despite out-shooting the Wildcats, 25-to-2. The Bruins also took 14 corner kicks, to Villanovas one.

Just 4:50 into the first period, a pair of freshman teamed to give the Bruins the decisive margin. Striker Staci Duncan (San Jose, Calif.) took a Vanessa Clark (Upland, Calif.) cross from the left flank and fired-off her shot from about eight yards out. Duncan leads the squad with six goals and 17 points in 11 matches.

Villanova keeper Janel Schillig (Marlton, NJ) played valiantly, saving 11 in a losing effort. For Schillig, the high-save count was not her first of the year. Her 25 saves against 2nd-ranked Notre Dame on Sept. 20 is the highest single-game total in NCAA Womens soccer this season.

TOMORROWS MATCH The Bruins (9-1-1) face host Hawaii (7-1-0) tomorrow night at 7:00 pm at Ala Wai Field in the final match of the Outrigger No Ka Oi. The Wahine enter the match riding a six game home win streak.

UCLA (9-1-1)		1
Villanova (4-6-2)	0
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Oct 11
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1 (2OT)
Saturday, Oct 17
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Oct 23
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Oct 25
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 29
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 0 - 7
Sunday, Nov 01
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 0 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 2