Four Bruins Receive Pac-10 Men's Tennis Honors

May 9, 2000

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - In a vote by the Conference coaches, UCLA's Brandon Kramer and Jong Min Lee were named Pac-10 Men's Doubles Team of the Year, the Pac-10 announced Tuesday. In addition, UCLA's Jean-Julien Rojer was named Men's Freshman of the Year.

UCLA's senior tandem of Kramer and Lee won the Pac-10 men's doubles championship at the Ojai, and are the No. 2-ranked doubles team in the nation. This is Lee's second straight Pac-10 doubles title, winning with Jean-Noel Grinda in 1999. Lee is from Melbourne, Australia and Kramer is from Reno, Nev.

Rojer, from Curacao, The Netherlands, is the No. 64-ranked singles player in the nation, helping the Bruin men rise to No. 2 in the national team rankings. He reached the semifinals of the Pac-10 men's singles championship and currently owns a 25-2 overall record.

In addition to their Doubles Team of the Year honors, Kramer and Lee, along with junior All-American Jean-Noel Grinda, were named to the Pac-10 first team. Rojer picked up second-team honors.

The complete list of men's tennis all-conference honors follows:

 
Men's First Team 
Geoff Abrams (STAN)
Alex Aybar (ARIZ)
Guillermo Carter (ORE)
Patrick Gottesleben (USC)
Jean Noel-Grinda (UCLA)
Alex Kim (STAN)
Brandon Kramer (UCLA)
Jong Min Lee (UCLA)
Alex Osterrieth (ASU)

Men's Second Team Erik Dmytruk (CAL) John Paul Fruttero (CAL) Matt Hanlin (WASH) K.J. Hippensteel (STAN) Andrew Park (USC) Jean-Julien Rojer (UCLA)

Men's Honorable Mention Daniel Langre (USC) Ryan Moore (USC)

Men's Co-Players of the Year Geoff Abrams (STAN) Alex Kim (STAN)

Men's Doubles Team of the Year Brandon Kramer/Jong Min Lee (UCLA)

Men's Freshman of the Year Jean-Julien Rojer (UCLA)

Men's Coach of the Year Chris Russell (ORE)


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, May 14 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Sunday, May 15 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Thursday, May 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
Tulsa, OK
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS