TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Men's Tennis At Home This Week
By: UCLA Athletics

Feb. 7, 2001

This Week ... Bruins Host Georgia Tech On Friday

The third-ranked UCLA men's tennis team (3-0, 2-0 Pac-10) will host the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets this Friday at the Los Angeles Tennis Center beginning at 1:30 pm.

About The Yellow Jackets ...

Friday's match between UCLA and Georgia Tech will be the fourth meeting between the squads with UCLA holding a 3-0 advantage in the all-time series. Georgia Tech is undefeated on the season (2-0) and posted victories over Charlotte (4-3) and Mercer (7-0) last weekend.

Last Week...

Senior Jean-Noel Grinda and sophomore Jean-Julien Rojer captured the men's doubles consolation title at the 2001 ITA Rolex National Championships in Dallas, Texas last weekend (Feb. 1-4). The tandem defeated Rodrigo Echagaray and Eleazar Magellan of Kansas, 6-7 (3), 6-4, 6-3. The pair reached the final after upending Virginia's Huntley Montgomery and Brian Vahaly, 6-2, 6-2, in the semifinals. In the first round, the pair defeated UNLV's Gegor Skorin and Nenad Zivkovic, 6-3, 6-3.

In singles, both players drew tough opponents in the first round, and sufferred defeats in the opening round. Grinda faced the tournament's number one seed, SMU's Genius Chidzikwe and looked to be on the verge of pulling an upset after winning the first set 6-4. Chidzikwe fought back though, and took the next two sets by identical scores of 6-3 to win the match. Rojer was fell in straight sets to Matias Boeker of Georgia, 6-4, 6-2. Both players had better success in the consolation rounds as Rojer reached the title game and Grinda lost a tough semifinal contest.

Rojer advanced to the quarterfinals after Shuon Madden of Texas A&M withdrew from the tournament due to injury. Rojer then defeated SMU's Alexis Rudzinski in straight sets by identical scores of 6-2 to advance to the semis. In the semifinal match, Rojer came from behind after dropping the first set to defeat Vahaly of Virginia, 1-6, 6-3, 6-4. His run ended in the final as Georgia's Bo Hodge won the consolation final in straight sets, 6-3, 6-1.

Grinda also rebounded after suffering a first round defeat as he picked up victories in the first rouund over Mississippi State's Rene Combette in straight sets, 7-5, 6-2 and in the quarterfinals, over Radovan Chrz of West Florida, 6-3, 7-6 (4). In the semifinals, Grinda put up a fight but could not pull off the victory after losing to enventual consolation singles champion Hodge of Georgia, 7-6 (4), 6-2.

Bruins In ITA National Rankings...

The Bruins, ranked No. 3 in the preseason ITA rankings, remained at that position in the latest rankings realeased on January 31. Standord remains the top-rated team in the nation, followed by Tennessee, UCLA, Georgia and Duke to round out the top five.

Next Up...

After the dual match against Georgia Tech, The Bruins hit the road and will face the University of Portland on February 13. After the match in Oregon, UCLA will compete in the National Indoor Championships in Seattle, Washington on February 15-18.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, May 14 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Sunday, May 15 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Thursday, May 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
Tulsa, OK
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS