TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Volleyball's Angela Eckmier Suffers Torn ACL
By: UCLA Athletics

Aug. 21, 2000

LOS ANGELES - Junior middle blocker Angela Eckmier (Simi Valley/Van Nuys HS) has suffered a complete tear of the anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) in her right knee, and will be lost to the Bruins for the entire 2000 season. She plans to have surgery on the knee some time in September.

Eckmier, who averaged 1.31 kills and 0.78 blocks per game as a reserve middle blocker in 1999, was slated to start at middle blocker for the 2000 Bruins. Last season, Eckmier played in 36 games over a span of 20 matches.

"It's definitely a loss for our team," said head coach Andy Banachowski, "but we expect (redshirt freshman) Ella Harley to step in for Angela, and (freshman) Cira Wright will back her up."

The top-ranked Bruins will open their 2000 season this Friday at the State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic when they take on second-ranked and defending NCAA Champion Penn State in Gainesville, FL. The match will be played at 5 p.m. ET on Friday, Aug. 25, and will be broadcast tape-delayed at 9:30 a.m. PT, Saturday, Aug. 26 on ESPN2.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - TBA PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - TBA PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS