UCLA Seeded No. 1 for NCAA Women's Water Polo Championships

May. 2, 2005

The UCLA Bruins, 30-0 this season, have been seeded No. 1 for next week's NCAA Women's Water Polo Championships, to be held at the Canham Natatorium on the University of Michigan campus in Ann Arbor, MI.

This is the first time that eight teams are competing for the NCAA title. In previous years, only four teams participated in the event.

UCLA will open play on Friday, May 13 at 6:00 pm EDT/3:00 pm PDT against No. 8 Wagner (23-7). The Bruins have never played Wagner before. Other first round matches include No. 2 USC (23-4) versus No. 7 Redlands (19-11) at Noon PDT, No. 3 Stanford (20-6) versus No. 6 Michigan (28-12) at 1:30 pm PDT and No. 4 Hawaii (20-9) versus No. 5 Loyola Marymount (4:30 pm PDT).

Should UCLA advance to the semifinals on Saturday, May 14, it would play the winner of the Loyola Marymount-Hawaii match at 4:30 pm EDT/1:30 pm PDT. The Bruins have defeated Hawaii three times this year and Loyola Marymount once.

Sunday's (May 15) championship match is set for 4:30 pm EDT/1:30 pm PDT and will be televised live by CSTV. The brackets for the tournament can be found by clicking here .


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
W, 23 - 2
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
W, 25 - 3
Saturday, Apr 09
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 8
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 16 - 6
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 8 (3OT)
Friday, Apr 29
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
W, 10 - 3
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Stanford
Bakersfield, CA
L, 3 - 6
Sunday, May 01
vs. California
Bakersfield, CA
W, 7 - 5
Friday, May 13
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 17 - 4
Saturday, May 14
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 7
Sunday, May 15
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS