UCLA Women's Soccer Recruiting Class Tabbed No. 1

July 31, 2000

Los Angeles -- Headlined by U.S. Women's National Team defender Nandi Pryce, the UCLA women's soccer recruiting class has been tabbed No. 1 in the nation according to online soccer source, Soccer Buzz.

UCLA beats out 1999 NCAA Champion North Carolina and Pac-10 rival Stanford, two schools which finished second and third respectively in the recruiting class rankings, for the top honor.

"I'm extremely excited with the players that have committed to play here," head coach Jillian Ellis said. "We signed some outstanding players and collectively, I think we really do have one of the best classes in the country."

UCLA signed seven top-notch recruits in February, three of whom played for Ellis as members of the Under-16 U.S. National Team. In March, the Bruins' received an added boost with the signing of Pryce, considered one of the top-two recruits in the nation and a member of the U.S. Women's National Team.

"We are thrilled with Nandi's decision to attend UCLA," said Ellis. "Her impact on our program will be immediate. Her international experience as a member of the U.S. Women's National Team and her personal qualities make Nandi a tremendous asset."

UCLA is ranked No. 14 in the preseason NSCAA Rankings and opens the season at No. 6 Clemson on Aug. 25.

The following is a complete list of UCLA's 2000 recruits:

Victoria Bloom (Orange, Calif./El Modena HS)
	-- Two-time All-CIF selection, Under-18 ODP Regional Team member
Lindsay Greco (Mission Viejo, Calif./Capistrano Valley HS)
	-- CIF-Player of the Year, Led Capistrano Valley to No. 2 national ranking by USA Today
Jaclyn Harwood (Danville, Calif./Monte Vista HS)
	-- All-CIF selection, Monte Vista HS Athlete of the Year
Kathryn Lee (Stockton, Calif./Lincoln HS)
	-- All-CIF selection, former Under-16 U.S National Team member
Michelle Mangiardi (Fremont, Calif./Mission San Jose HS)
	-- All-CIF selection, member of four-time state champion San Ramon Crunch
Nandi Pryce (Casselberry, Fla./Lake Howell HS)
	-- U.S. Women's National Team member, Parade All-American
Jessica Stamp (Klein, Tex./Klein HS)
	-- High school All-American, former Under-16 U.S. National Team member
Sarah-Gayle Swanson (Denver, Colo./J.K. Mullen Christian Bros. HS)
	-- Under-18 U.S. National Team member, Parade All-American

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
-
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS