Kristee Porter Selected UCLABruins.com Student-Athlete Of The Week

Oct. 8, 2001

Senior outside hitter Kristee Porter (Tyler, Texas/John Tyler HS) of the UCLA women's volleyball was selected the UCLABruins.com Student-Athlete of the Week for the week of Oct. 1-7.

Porter made history during Thursday's match against Washington when she passed a career total of 2,115 kills set by Pac-10 Player of the Decade, Natalie Willams, from 1989-92. It took Williams 137 matches and 458 games played to set the previous Pac-10 and UCLA career record of 2,115 career kills, while Porter surpassed that mark in the 103rd match and 371st game of her career. Porter recorded the record-breaking kill as UCLA held a 14-6 lead over the Huskies in game two of the Bruins' 3-1 win. She turned in a 20-kill performance in that four-game match, the only 20-kill match of the weekend in the Pac-10 in a match shorter than five games.

In a 3-0 win over Washington State Friday, Porter followed with a match-high 13-kill performance.

Porter now has 2,139 career kills and her next kill, most likely on Thursday night against Stanford, will move her into a tie with Minnesota's Andrea Gonzalez for 20th on the NCAA's all-time list.

This is Porter's third UCLABruins.com Student-Athlete of the Week honor this season and the school-record eighth of her career.

Also nominated: Ben Aragon (men's cross country), Brett Ormsby (men's water polo), Stephanie Rigamat (women's soccer), Carolyn Shea (women's cross country), Matt Taylor (men's soccer).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS