Pryce, Ellis Earn Pac-10's Highest Honor

Nov. 13, 2003

Walnut Creek, Calif. - UCLA senior women' soccer player Nandi Pryce was named Pac-10 Co-Player of the Year, while head coach Jillian Ellis was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, Conference Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Thursday.

Pryce, a defender from Casselberry, Fla., has played in all 20 matches for No. 2 UCLA, starting 19. She is a leader on a Bruin defense that ranks 17th nationally in shutout percentage (0.61) and 25th in goals against average (0.76). She has helped UCLA rank No. 1 in the Pac-10 in shutouts (11), goals allowed (16), and goals against average (0.76). Pryce, who becomes the Bruins' third Pac-10 Player of the year following Traci Arkenberg (1997) and Tracey Milburn (2000), has tallied three points on the year.

It is the first Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor for Ellis, who helped guide the Bruins to a 16-1-3 regular-season record in 2003. She recently led the Bruins to their fourth Pac-10 title (second during her tenure), finishing 8-0-1 in conference play. Ellis was named NSCAA/adidas National Coach of the Year back in 2000 after leading UCLA to the NCAA Final.

In addition to Pryce, four other Bruins earned All-Pac-10 honors Thursday, including first-team selections Whitney Jones, Sarah-Gayle Swanson and Iris Mora. Jill Oakes was a second-team selection.

Co-Pac-10 Players of the Year: Nandi Pryce (UCLA), Tina Frimpong (WASH)
Coach of the Year: Jillian Ellis (UCLA)
Freshman/Newcomer of the Year: Rosa Anna Tantillo (USC)

2003 PAC-10 All-Conference Women's Soccer Teams

Name			Pos.	Yr.	School
Tina Frimpong		F	Jr.	WASH
Allyson Marquand**	MF	Sr.	STAN
Nandi Pryce**		D	Sr.	UCLA
Iris Mora*		F	So.	UCLA
Amy LePeilbet**		D	Sr.	ASU
Kim Yokers**		MF	Sr.	CAL
Candice Wilks		F	Jr.	ARIZ
Whitney Jones*		MF	Sr.	UCLA
Sarah-Gayle Swanson**	F	Sr.	UCLA
Megan Abbamonto**	MF	Sr.	USC
Nicole Barnhart*	GK	Jr.	STAN

SECOND TEAM Name Pos. Yr. School Nicole Garbin MF So. ORE Manya Makoski* MF So. ASU Melissa Bennett* F Sr. UW Tessa Baker F So. OSU Natalie Spilger D Sr. STAN Jill Oakes* MF So. UCLA Stephanie Ebner D So. ASU Lindsey Peeples D Jr. ARIZ Brittany Cooper MF So. ASU Ashley Valenzuela MF Sr. CAL Julie Peterson GK Jr. USC

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree **three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

Rosa Anna Tantillo (USC, Fr., F); Mariette Boyce (WSU, Sr., D); Stacey Mescher (OSU, So., F); Hayley Hunt (STAN, So., D); Nadia Al-Lami (CAL, Fr., D); Mallory Miller (ARIZ, So., MF); Liz Bogus* (ASU, So., F); Alisan Pabon (STAN, Sr., D); Kim Taylor* (UW, So., F); Nikki Goza (USC, Jr., D); Katie Hultin (WSU, So., GK).

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events