TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Men's Tennis Hosts UC Irvine, Opens Pac-10 in Desert
By: UCLA Athletics

January 26, 1999

This Week Bruins Host UC Irvine, Open Pac-10 Play In Desert
The UCLA men's tennis team, tied for No. 5 in the national rankings, continues its early season homestand hosting local foe UC Irvine on Tuesday, Jan. 26 at 1:30 p.m. at the Los Angles Tennis Center on the UCLA campus. The Bruins also open Pac-10 Conference action this weekend by traveling to the desert to play at the University of Arizona on Friday. Jan. 29 at 1:30 p.m. and Arizona State on Saturday, Jan. 30 at Noon.

About This Week's Opponents
UC Irvine opened 1999 dual match play going 3-0 in the Atrium Anteater Quad by sweeping Gonzaga, Northern Arizona and Fairleigh Dickinson. Senior Thomas Bohun is 3-0 in the top-slot for No. 67 ranked UCI. Last year UCLA won 7-0 at UCI on Jan. 21.

Both the University of Arizona and Arizona State open their dual match seasons this week, hosting Fresno State midweek and UCLA and USC over the weekend. Arizona is currently tied for No. 45 in the national rankings, while ASU is listed No. 17. ASU has two individuals ranked in singles (Gustavo Marcaccio is tied for No. 31 and Jeff Williams is tied for No. 92) and one doubles team (Williams and Ed Carter are No. 26). No Arizona players are currently ranked. Last year UCLA dropped just one point in each of three matches and swept the other as it posted two victories over both Arizona and ASU.

The Bruins Last Week
UCLA registered its second sweep of the young season despite four tiebreakers in the match with No. 28 ranked Tulane. The final 7-0 score was not indicative of the closeness of the match which began with UCLA claiming the doubles point as the No. 1 team of Jean-Noel Grinda and Jong-Min Lee prevailed in the first tiebreaker of the day to give the Bruins the necessary second victory in doubles action. The Bruins registered solid wins on court Nos. 4-6 to seal the team victory and kept the slate clean with hard-fought victories on the front courts as Grinda and Zack Fleishman won tiebreakers.

Next Up
UCLA returns home for a non-conference match against New Mexico on Tuesday, Feb. 2 at Noon, then sends individuals to compete in the ITA Rolex National Indoor Championships in Dallas, Feb. 4-7 and in the San Diego Tournament Feb. 5-6.

UCLA MTN Quick Facts
Current Team Rank: Tie No. 5 - Fall (12/8)
Team's Dual Match Record: 2-0
Pac-10 Record: 0-0
Head Coach: Billy Martin (6th season)
Current Career Dual-match Record: 112-25
Last Year's Record: 17-8 overall, 5-2 Pac-10
Final Team Ranking: Nation - 7

Bruins' Last Lineup w/Records

Pos.  Name                Dual    Overall
 1S   Jean-Noel Grinda    2-0       9-1
 2S   Zack Fleishman      2-0      12-5
 3S   Jason Cook          2-0       3-1
 4S   Brandon Kramer      2-0      12-5
 5S   Jong-Min Lee        2-0       9-4
 6S   Chris Sands         2-0      10-4
 1D   Grinda / Lee        2-0       3-1
 2D   Cook / Kramer       2-0       4-1
 3D   Rozpedski / Sands   1-0       1-0

Bruins In The 98-99 ITA National Rankings

Team           Fall    
UCLA           5 tie

Singles PS Fall Singles PS Fall Cook 63 NA Fleishman 85 66 Grinda 10 NA Lee 36 Kramer t92

Doubles PS Fall Grinda/Lee 23 NA

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS