First Day Results - Rafer Johnson/Jackie Joyner Kersee T & F Invitational

April 4, 2003

April 4 - Field Results
Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

April 4 - Track Results
Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

First day results from the first annual Rafer Johnson/Jackie Joyner-Kersee Track & Field Invitational held Friday at UCLA's Drake Stadium. All events on Friday were women and men's open and qualifying, with the exception of invitational events in the men's hammer and men's 10,000m. The meet will conclude Saturday with women and men's invitational events, starting at 8:30 a.m. (field events, women's hammer) and 10:45 a.m. (track events, women's 5000m).

On the track, the Bruin men were paced by sophomore Martell Munguia, who won heat one of the 800m, in time of 1:54.21.

Also running well for UCLA were - freshman Craig Everhart, who placed second (47.12) in heat one of the 400m and senior John McCauley, who was second (10.85) in the 100m.

In the field, redshirt freshman Jeremy Silverman won the shot put with a mark of 58-10.25 (season-best) and fellow redshirt freshman Jake Knight was third (57-5.50). In the long jump, freshman Ryan Hollins, the starting center on the Bruin men's basketball team, was second, in a personal-best 22-3. In the discus, senior Scott Wiegand placed second, he was the top collegian, with a personal-best mark of 188-6. Freshman David Shortenhaus was fourth (170-6, personal-best) and Silverman was fifth (169-1, personal-best).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Thursday, May 26
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Suspended
Friday, May 27
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Saturday, May 28
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Wednesday, Jun 08
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Thursday, Jun 09
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Friday, Jun 10
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
-
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS