Bruins Use Long Ball to Defeat California, 7-2

April 23, 2004

Box Score

BERKELEY, CA - UCLA (22-16, 5-5) a three-run home run from Brandon Averill and a two-run homer from Chris Denove to post a 7-2 win over California (21-24, 6-10)on Friday afternoon at Evans Diamond.

After the Golden Bears put up a run in the bottom of the first inning, the Bruins responded by putting up five runs in the top of the third frame. Back-to-back infield singles from Chad Concolino and Mike Svetlic started off the inning. The bases would be loaded as a throwing error from pitcher Adam Gold allowed Brett McMillan to reach base. After a Bruin out, Wes Whisler would bring a runner in with a single to left field. Matt Thayer would hit into a fielder's choice as a runner scored and Whisler was forced out at second. Brandon Averill would then hit his fourth home run of the season over the left center field wall to give UCLA a 5-1 lead.

In the sixth inning, the Bruins extended their lead to six runs when Chris Denove homered over the left field fence. He drove in Averill who had walked to leadoff the inning. After the top half of the sixth, UCLA led 7-1.

California would put up another run in the bottom of the eighth inning, but it would not be enough to overcome the Bruin lead.

Starter Casey Janssen improved to 7-2 on the season as he allowed two runs on nine hits in 7.2 innings. The right-hander struck out five batters.

Averill's three RBI led the team, while Ryan McCarthy and Denove each had two hits on the day.

The Bruins and the Golden Bears will continue the series tomorrow when they face off at 1:00 p.m. Right-hander Bryan Beck will take the mound for UCLA.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS