UCLA Track & Field Open Outdoor Season at Home on Saturday, March 5

March 1, 2005

The No. 17 UCLA women will take a break from the indoor track season to host the UCLA Invitational on Saturday, Mar. 5 at Drake Stadium. The meet will feature the Bruins, Cal Poly SLO, Cal State Fullerton and Cal State LA, along with open competitors, beginning at 8:00 am with the women's hammer throw. This will be the first meet in which athletes can qualify for the NCAA West Regional Championships, hosted by Oregon May 27-28.

The UCLA women's team placed fourth at the MPSF Championships last weekend, as junior Dawn Harper and sophomore Kamaiya Warren led the Bruins with individual victories. Harper won the 60m hurdles in a lifetime-best and automatic NCAA qualifying time of 8.12, while Warren won the shot put with a season-best and provisional qualifying toss of 52-6.

In the upcoming NCAA Indoor, the Bruins have four likely competitors in Harper, Warren, senior Candice Baucham and junior Jacqueline Nguyen. Harper currently ranks second in the nation in the 60m hurdles, while Warren ranks 14th in the shot put. Baucham, who did not compete at the MPSF Championships, has the fourth best triple jump mark (43-10.50) in the country. Nguyen ranks 14th in the nation in the pole vault with a best mark of 13-4.50.

Listed below is a tentative meet schedule for the UCLA Invitational:

Field Events
8:00 am - Women's Hammer
9:30 am - Men's Hammer
10:45 am - Women's Javelin
11:30 am - Women and Men's Long Jump
Noon - Men's Javelin
12:15 pm - Women's Shot Put
12:15 pm - Women's Pole Vault
12:45 pm - Men's Discus
1:00 pm - Women and Men's Triple Jump
2:00 pm - Men's Pole Vault
2:15 pm - Women and Men's High Jump
2:30 pm - Men's Shot Put

Track Events
Noon - Women's Steeplechase
12:20 pm - Men's Steeplechase
12:40 pm - Women's 400m Relay
12:50 pm - Men's 400m Relay
1:00 pm - Women's 1500m
1:10 pm - Men's 1500m
1:20 pm - Women's 100m Hurdles
1:30 pm - Men's 110m Hurdles
1:40 pm - Women's 400m
1:50 pm - Men's 400m
2:00 pm - Women's 100m
2:10 pm - Men's 100m
2:20 pm - Women's 800m
2:30 pm - Men's 800m
2:40 pm - Women's 400m Hurdles
2:50 pm - Men's 400m Hurdles
3:00 pm - Women's 200m
3:10 pm - Men's 200m
3:20 pm - Women's 3000m
3:35 pm - Men's 3000m
3:50 pm - Women's 1600m Relay
4:00 pm - Men's 1600m Relay


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 16
vs. Lumberjack Team ...
Flagstaff, AZ
Recap
Friday, Jan 22
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, Feb 20 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Alex Wilson ...
Notre Dame, IN
Friday, Feb 26 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. Ben Brown ...
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Saturday, Mar 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 14 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Sunday, May 08 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS