NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
Six Bruins Named To MPSF All-Conference Team

Dec. 1, 1999

WESTWOOD, Calif. - Six UCLA men's water polo team members were named to the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Conference team as voted by the league's head coaches, MPSF executive director Al Beaird announced Wednesday.

Senior Matt Armato and junior Sean Kern were named to the all-conference first team. Armato, the MPSF conference tournament Most Valuable Player, also earned All-MPSF honors as a junior in 1997. He currently ranks third on the team with 40 points, including a school record six two-pointers. Kern, the team's leading scorer with 47 points, earned second and third-team honors respectively the last two seasons.

Junior Adam Wright earned a second-team selection this year, and also garnered All-MPSF honors in his first two years. Wright is second in team scoring with career-high 45 points. Named to the third team was junior Brian Brown who has recorded 31 points and a team-high 41 steals.

Rounding out Bruin honorees are juniors Andy Bailey and Blake Wellen, both named honorable mention members. Defensive standouts Bailey and Wellen are tied for second in team steals with 32, while scoring 15 and eight points respectively.

Stanford senior Brian Heifferon was named the MPSF Player of the Year, while Pacific's Courtney Porter earned Coach of the Year honors.

1999 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation
Men's Water Polo All-Conference Teams


Matt Armato Senior Attacker UCLA
Sean Kern Junior 2-Meter Offense UCLA
Brian Heifferon Senior Driver Stanford
Jerry Smith Junior 2-Meter Set California
Gabe Esposto Senior 2-Meter Pacific
Allen Basso Senior Driver USC
Nick Ellis Freshman Goalkeeper Stanford


Adam Wright Junior Playmaker UCLA
Pat Cochran Senior Driver Long Beach State
Sean Joy Senior Driver Stanford
Chris Segesman Sophomore Defender Long Beach State
Albert Won Senior Driver California
Greg Lonzo Sophomore Driver Pepperdine
Richard McEvoy Senior Goalkeeper USC


Brian Brown Junior Defender UCLA
George Csaszar Junior Driver USC
Peter Janov Senior 2-Meter USC
James Castle Senior 2-Meter USC
Andy Walburger Senior Driver Stanford
Corey Dolley Senior Utility Long Beach State
Pat Donlon Senior Driver/2 MD Pacific
Joey Pacelli Junior Driver UC Santa Barbara
Trevor Spence Sophomore Goalkeeper UC Santa Barbara

Honorable Mention

Andy Bailey Junior Defender UCLA
Blake Wellen Junior 2-Meter Defense UCLA
Peter Joseph Junior 2-Meter Pepperdine
Jon Skaalen Senior 2-Meter Defense Stanford
Eldad Hazor Senior Driver California
Tom Coughlan Junior 2-Meter/Utility UC Santa Barbara
Sean Hylton Junior 2-Meter Guard Pepperdine
Jeff Powers Sophomore 2-Meter UC Irvine
Kevin Ahasey Senior Goalkeeper California
Robert Smith Junior Goalkeeper Long Beach State
Michael Soltis Freshman Goalkeeper Pepperdine
Genai Kerr Senior Goalkeeper UC Irvine
Chris Lund Junior Driver Pacific
Ivan Babic Sophomore Utility USC
Jeff Johnson SeniorGoalkeeper Pacific
Spencer Dornin Sophomore 2-Meter Guard California
Andrew Tri Senior Driver Pacific

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events