TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UC Irvine Advances to NCAA Second Round
By: UCLA Athletics

Dec. 5, 2003

Los Angeles, CA - In the first match of NCAA volleyball first round action held at UCLA, the UC Irvine Anteaters defeated the Missouri Tigers 3-2 (30-27, 31-33, 25-30, 30-28, 15-12) to advance to the second round. Second round action will take place tomorrow night, December 6, at 7:00 PM in Pauley Pavilion. The Anteaters will face the winner of UCLA versus San Diego.

On the game, Irvine had 76 kills, 32 errors, 194 total attacks and hit .227. Kelly Wing led the Anteaters with 31 kills and had 18 digs. Brenda Waterman had a game high 24 digs for Irvine. Missouri had 75 kills, 28 errors and 185 total attacks, hitting .254 on the game. Leading the Tigers was Jessica Vander Kooi, who had 23 kills along with 18 digs. Shen Danru had a team high 22 digs to go with her 19 kills.

Irvine is now 24-9 on the season. Missouri ends the year with an overall record of 19-11. The Anteaters will face the winner of the UCLA/San Diego match tomorrow evening in Pauley Pavilion at 7:00 PM.

UC Irvine Head Coach Charlie Brande
"We are fortunate to have won a number of five game matches this year. I thought that we did a great job of making some adjustments in order to win tonight.

"Missouri was bigger than I thought they would be. As the match went on, it felt more equal, size-wise. We were able to get crucial kills at crucial times."

"Tonight's victory is a reward for all of the team's hard work and perseverance this season."

"This was a huge match for us tonight. It is the first time that we've played in Pauley Pavilion. There were a lot of nerves heading into the match. To overcome that nervousness was key to our victory."

Missouri Head Coach Susan Kreklow
"It was a very competitive match tonight. I felt like Irvine did a very nice job throughout the match keeping the pressure on. For the most part, we were very aggressive and did what we needed to do to win the match. However, the difference was costly unforced errors that cost us the match."

"This was a positive learning experience for our team. In every game, we had opportunities. We just didn't make the plays we needed to make in order to win."

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS