TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Homestand Heats Up: Men's Volleyball to Host No.3 BYU Twice
By: UCLA Athletics
Mar. 2, 1998

This week, the top-ranked and unbeaten UCLA men's volleyball team faces its stiffest challenge of the season. After hosting ninth ranked Loyola of Chicago on Mar. 3, the Bruins entertain third ranked BYU Mar. 6 & 7. All matches will begin at 7 p.m. in Pauley Pavilion.

Former three-time UCLA All-American and double Olympic medalist Doug Partie (1981-84) will have his jersey (No.20) retired in pre-match ceremonies on Mar. 7. As a middle blocker for the Bruins Partie started on four consecutive NCAA championship teams and played on the Bruins' 1984 team that posted a 38-0 record, the last undefeated team in NCAA men's volleyball history.

The Bruins, 15-0 overall and 10-0 in league play won twice last week, defeating MPSF Pacific Division foe UC Irvine, 3-0 on Feb. 26 and beating 10th ranked Lewis University, 3-1 on Feb. 28.

Against the Anteaters, the Bruins were led by 15 kills each from sophomore Adam Naeve and freshman Mark Williams. Sophomore setter Brandon Taliaferro dug 15 balls, hit .857 (6-0-7) and added 45 set assists. The games scores were 15-5, 15-7, 15-6.

Last Saturday against Lewis, the Bruins lost a game, but won the match, 15-8, 15-4, 14-16, 15-4. The Flyers, one of just three teams this season to capture a game from the Bruins, got a match high 35 kills from junior Victor Rivera and 22 kills from junior Ryan McNeil. In Game 3, the Flyers took an 11-5 lead only to watch the Bruins rally and tie the score at 14-14 after fighting off 11 game points. A wide kill attempt by UCLA gave Lewis the game. Naeve led the Bruins with a double-double of 25 kills and 12 digs. Senior Tom Stillwell and sophomore Evan Thatcher added 17 kills apiece.

The Bruins will meet Loyola of Chicago (11-4) for the first time on Mar. 3. The Ramblers invade Pauley Pavilion boasting victories over Eastern powers Penn State, Rutgers and George Mason and regional rival Lewis.

In BYU (6-2, 6-2), UCLA will face the league's top blocking team at over nine blocks per game. Preseason No.1 favorites, the Cougars dropped to third nationally when they were swept Feb. 5 and 7 at Pepperdine.

UCLA VB QUICK FACTS
Upcoming Matches*
Mar. 3  UCLA vs. Loyola (Chicago), 7 p.m.
Feb. 6  UCLA vs. BYU, 7 p.m.
Mar. 7  UCLA vs. BYU, 7 p.m.
*All match times PST in Pauley Pavilion
Recent Results
Feb. 26 UCLA d. UCI, 3-0
Feb. 28 UCLA d. Lewis, 3-1
Probable Starters:
#3  Brandon Tailaferro, 6-5, So., S, San Clemente, CA (1.1kpg, 15.5apg, 1.7dpg, 0.7bpg)
#14 Fred Robins, 6-6, Jr., OH, Waimanalo, HI (2.5kpg, 1.9dpg, 0.3bpg) 
#5  Mark Williams, 6-7, Fr., OH, Los Angeles, CA (3.0kpg, 1.7dpg, 0.3bpg)
#17 Tom Stillwell, 6-8, Sr., Q, Northridge, CA (3.5kpg, 1.5dpg, 1.1bpg)
#18 Adam Naeve, 6-10, So., Q, Westchester, CA (5.2kpg, 1.5dpg, 1.1bpg)
#20 Ben Moselle, 6-4, Sr., OH/Op, Encinitas, CA (3.1kpg, 1.7dpg, 0.7bpg) OR
#9  Evan Thatcher, 6-8, So., Op, Encinitas, CA (3.8kpg, 1.5dpg, 0.7bpg)
Substitutions:
#15 Danny Farmer, 6-4, Jr., Q, Los Angeles, CA (3.5kpg, 1.3dpg, 0.9bpg)
#19 Charlie Jackson, 6-0, Sr., S, Poway, CA (0.3dpg)
EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
25-19, 25-15, 25-14
Tuesday, Jan 05
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
25-23, 25-12, 25-20
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
(24-26, 25-22, 25-22, 25-22)
Friday, Jan 08
at Penn State
University Park, PA
(25-23, 22-25, 25-18, 21-25, 15-8)
Friday, Jan 15
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-19, 24-26, 25-23, 25-23)
Saturday, Jan 16
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
(25-18, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
(27-25, 25-21, 25-12)
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 23-25, 25-21, 25-19)
Monday, Jan 25
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-23, 25-16)
Wednesday, Jan 27
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
(23-25, 22-25, 25-19, 25-22, 15-13)
Friday, Jan 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
(20-25, 25-23, 27-25, 25-19)
Friday, Feb 05
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-18, 20-25, 23-25, 18-25)
Saturday, Feb 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(22-25, 25-22, 19-25, 25-18, 15-9)
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Monday, Mar 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Ball State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Concordia
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 7:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 7:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
TBA
Thursday, Apr 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
TBA
Saturday, Apr 23 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championship
TBA
Thursday, May 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Championships
University Park, PA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS