No. 11 Bruins Defeat No. 23 Oregon, 6-1

March 6, 2004

Results

LOS ANGELES - The No. 11-ranked UCLA women's tennis team snapped its two match losing streak Saturday, posting a 6-1 victory over No. 23 Oregon in a Pac-10 contest at the Los Angeles Tennis Center. With the win, the Bruins improve to 7-5 overall and 1-1 in Pac-10 play. Oregon drops to 9-5 (0-2 Pac-10).

UCLA came out strong from the beginning, claiming all three doubles matches to earn the one point awarded for doubles play. At the No. 1 court, UCLA's Jackie Carleton and Feriel Esseghir upset 27th-ranked Courtney Nagle/Daria Panova, 8-3. The Bruins also posted a pair of 8-1 wins at the Nos. 2 and 3 courts.

The Bruins were just as dominant in singles play, winning five out of six matches. UCLA jumped out to an early 3-0 advantage in the match when court Nos. 5 and 6 finished at nearly the same time. At court No. 5, junior Lauren Fisher dropped just two games en route to a 6-2, 6-0 victory over Jamie Marshall. At court No. 6, sophomore Laura Gordon dispatched of Anna Leksinska, 6-4, 6-1.

The dual match was clinched at the No. 4 position, where junior Sarah Gregg defeated Davina Mendiburu, 6-0, 6-1.

With a 4-0 lead, the Bruins would win two out of the three remaining singles matches. Esseghir gave UCLA a 5-0 advantage following her 6-4, 6-1 victory over Courtney Nagle at the No. 2 position. Oregon received its only point of the day at No. 1 court, where Panova, ranked seventh nationally, outlasted 13th-ranked Carleton, 6-2, 7-6(4). In the final match of the day at No. 3 singles, 44th-ranked Daniela Bercek defeated 46th-ranked Dominika Dieskova, 3-6, 6-3, (10-7).

UCLA heads to Arizona next weekend, taking on the Wildcats on Saturday, Mar. 12 and the Sun Devils on Sunday, Mar. 13.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS