Bruins Edge No. 24 Arizona, 48-47

Feb. 14, 2003

Box Score

LOS ANGELES - UCLA held Arizona scoreless over the last 3:07 minutes of the game and outlasted the No. 24-ranked Wildcats 48-47 tonight in a Pac-10 women's basketball contest in Pauley Pavilion. Bruin junior guard Gennifer Arranaga's free throw with 1:07 remaining in the game proved to be the deciding point in the contest. Arizona's Dee-Dee Wheeler's attempt at a game winning shot from the top of the key went awry and the buzzer sounded during the fight for the rebound.

Wheeler led Arizona with a game-high 16 points, 14 coming in the second half and seven of those came in the first four minutes of the second half as the Wildcats rallied from a 23-18 halftime deficit to gain a 29-27 advantage at the 16:07 mark. Arizona built its lead to as much as six points before UCLA battled back to tie the score at 45-all with 4:26 to play on a three-point shot by freshman guard Nikki Blue. Blue led UCLA with 13 points.

The Wildcats made it 47-45 on a basket by guard Aimee Grzyb with 3:07 to play. The Bruins tied it at 47 on a basket by junior forward Whitney Jones with 1:58 remaining. After Wheeler missed a three-point attempt with 1:14 to go, Arranaga, who finished with nine points for the game, was fouled hard heading to the basket with 1:07 remaining. She missed the first attempt and made the second to give the Bruins a one-point advantage.

The Bruins rebounded a missed Wildcat shot with 45 seconds to play and Arranaga failed to connect on a three-point attempt with 15 seconds on the clock. Arizona's Krista Warren grabbed the rebound and was fouled with 11 seconds remaining, but it was just the sixth Bruin team foul of the half. After an Arizona timeout, the Wildcats inbounded the ball under the UCLA basket and brought it up the length on the court to set up Wheeler's game-winning attempt.

UCLA upped its record to 13-9, 8-5 in the Pac-10 despite the fact that the leading scorer in the conference, Michelle Greco (20.0 ppg), did not score. The Bruin senior battled flu-like symptoms during the game and missed all five of her shot attempts in 26 minutes of action.

Arizona, which was held to its lowest scoring total of the season and shot just 32% for the game, fell to 16-7, 9-5 in the Pac-10.

UCLA will host Arizona State on Sunday afternoon at 2 p.m. in Pauley Pavilion.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Nov 13
vs. St. John's
Los Angeles, CA
W, 73 - 58
Friday, Nov 20
vs. James Madison
Los Angeles, CA
W, 90 - 61
Sunday, Nov 22
vs. South Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 65 - 68
Friday, Nov 27
vs. Louisiana Tech
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
W, 68 - 57
Saturday, Nov 28
vs. Notre Dame
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
L, 84 - 92 (OT)
Saturday, Dec 05
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 82 - 68
Sunday, Dec 13
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 86 - 77
Wednesday, Dec 16
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 48
Friday, Dec 18
at Sacramento State
Sacramento, CA
W, 109 - 76
Monday, Dec 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 104 - 108 (2OT)
Monday, Dec 28
at UC Riverside
Riverside, CA
W, 70 - 56
Wednesday, Dec 30
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 78 - 73
Saturday, Jan 02
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 80 - 69
Monday, Jan 04
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 71 - 51
Sunday, Jan 10
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 68 - 71
Friday, Jan 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 56 - 64
Sunday, Jan 17
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
W, 75 - 73
Friday, Jan 22
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 75 - 56
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 56 - 36
Friday, Jan 29
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
W, 82 - 64
Sunday, Jan 31
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 69 - 63
Friday, Feb 05
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
L, 61 - 65
Sunday, Feb 07
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 73 - 39
Friday, Feb 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Feb 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Feb 26 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Women's ...
Seattle, WA
Friday, Mar 04 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Women's ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Women's ...
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Women's ...
Seattle, WA
Friday, Mar 18 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Sunday, Mar 20 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Friday, Mar 25 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Sunday, Mar 27 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Sunday, Apr 03 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Indianapolis, IN
Tuesday, Apr 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Indianapolis, IN
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS