TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Bruins Blank Sun Devils, 7-0
By: UCLA Athletics

March 26, 2005

LOS ANGELES - The fifth-ranked UCLA men's tennis team (17-2; 2-0 Pac-10) made quick work of visiting Arizona State (6-9; 0-2 Pac-10) Saturday, defeating the Sun Devils, 7-0 for the second time this season. The Bruins also won 7-0 back on Mar. 11 in Tempe, Ariz.

UCLA, which was coming off a 7-0 decision against Arizona on Friday, came out strong from the start, taking all three doubles matches. The point was clinched at court No. 3, where Kris Kwinta and Mathieu Dehaine posted an 8-3 decision over ASU's Nick Hegarty/Ryan McBride.

Seventh-ranked Luben Pampoulov, who had been sideline recently due to injury, put the Bruins ahead 2-0 with a dominating 6-0, 6-1 performance against Jonathan Kinsella at court No. 2. That match was quickly followed by court No. 3, where Kwinta, ranked 50th, defeated No. 96 Chris Biro, 6-1, 6-3.

Dehaine clinched the match for UCLA at court No. 6, defeating Nick Hegarty, 6-2, 6-0.

Arizona State made UCLA work for its next three points, as Philipp Gruendler, Chris Lam and Benjamin Kohlloeffel were all extended in their matches. Gruendler won in three sets after losing the first set 6-0 to Mike Beatty at court No. 5. Both Kohlloeffel and Lam won 10-point tiebreakers in place of a third set.

UCLA will remain at the LATC next week, hosting Washington on Apr. 1 and Oregon on Apr. 2.

Doubles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.Kohlloeffel/Gruendler (UCLA) def. Biro/Kinsella (ASU)8-1
2.Lam/Pampoulov (UCLA) def. Beatty/Letcher (ASU)8-4
3.Kwinta/Dehaine (UCLA) def. Hegarty/McBride (ASU)8-3
UCLA Wins Doubles Point

Singles

Pos.OpponentsScore
1.(10) Benjamin Kohlloeffel (UCLA) def. Clint Letcher (ASU)6-4, 3-6, (10-5)
2.(7) Luben Pampoulov (UCLA) def. Jonathan Kinsella (ASU)6-0, 6-1
3.(50) Kris Kwinta (UCLA) def. (96) Christopher Biro (ASU)6-1, 6-3
4.Chris Lam (UCLA) def. Ryan McBride (ASU)6-2, 6-7(4), (10-6)
5.(64) Philipp Gruendler (UCLA) def. Mike Beatty (ASU)0-6, 6-2, 7-5
6.Mathieu Dehaine (UCLA) def. Nick Hegarty (ASU)6-2, 6-0
Order of finish: 2, 3, 6, 5, 1, 4
EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS