Bruins Outlast Huskies, 4-1

Feb. 19, 2006

SEATTLE - The seventh-ranked UCLA men's tennis team downed No. 14 Washington, 4-1 late Sunday evening in the final consolation round of the USTA/ITA National Men's Tennis Team Indoor Championships at Washington's Nordstrom Tennis Center.

The Huskies (7-2) were unable to bounce back from losing the doubles point as the Bruins (7-3) went on to win three singles matches to seal the win.

UCLA received singles wins from Benjamin Kohlloeffel (No. 1), Philipp Gruendler (No. 5) and Michael Look (No. 6) to seal the victory. Pierre Metenier picked up Washington's lone singles win at the No. 2 spot, defeating Haythem Abid, 6-2, 2-6, 6-1.

UCLA returns to the Los Angeles Tennis Center next week, hosting the Arizona schools on Friday and Saturday.


1.Gruendler/Kohlloeffel (UCLA) led (45) Chu/Slovic (UW)7-5 (DNF)
2.Abid/Surapol (UCLA) def. Insausti/Ricks (UW)8-6
3.Dehaine/ Aaron Yovan (UCLA) def. Andrew Gerst/Jank (UW)8-6
UCLA Wins Doubles Point


1.(3) Benjamin Kohlloeffel (UCLA) def. (32) Alex Slovic (UW)6-0, 7-6(5)*
2.Pierre Metenier (UW) def. Haythem Abid (UCLA)6-2, 2-6, 6-1
3.(75) Mathieu Dehaine (UCLA) led Jean-Noel Insausti (UW)6-4, 4-6, 1-0 (DNF)
4.Daniel Chu (UW) led Chris Surapol (UCLA)6-2, 6-6 (DNF)
5.Philipp Gruendler (UCLA) def. (80) Klaus Jank (UW)6-3, 6-1
6.Michael Look (UCLA) def. Mike Ricks (UW)6-2, 6-3
* Denotes Clinching Match -- Singles Order of Finish: 5, 6, 2, 1

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 10 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCTC Tournament
Friday, Jan 15 - All Day PST
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 24 - TBA PST
vs. Georgia Tech or New ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 31 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 2:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA