NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
Tucay Earns All-MPSF First Team Accolades

Nov. 28, 2001

WOODLAND, Calif. - Six members of the second-ranked UCLA men's water polo team have been given recognition by the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF), which announced its 2001 all-star teams on Wednesday.

Senior two-meter Alfonso Tucay (Burbank/Burroughs) was the lone Bruin given a first-team selection. In his initial season as a starter, Tucay ranks second on the team with 28 goals and also reached the MPSF All-Tournament Team. As the focal point of the offense he earned 35 opponent ejections, almost three times as many as any other UCLA player. Tucay also led the team in shooting percentage and is widely regarded as the Bruins' most improved player.

Goalkeeper Brandon Brooks (Jr., Honolulu, HI/Punahou) was selected to the All-MPSF Second Team for the second consecutive season. In 2001, Brooks has compiled a 5.90 goals-against average with over nine saves per match. He also leads the team with 47 steals and has started 18 of UCLA's 19 matches in the cage. Brooks was a first-team All-American last year and is trying to win his third straight NCAA crown as the Bruins' starting netminder.

Freshman driver Brett Ormsby (El Cajon/Valhalla) also earned MPSF second-team status for being UCLA's leading scorer. Ormsby has amassed 38 goals, including three or more goals in seven matches. He also became the first Bruin to ever win two Mikasa/MPSF Player of the Week Awards in the same season. Ormsby has been UCLA's clutch performer by scoring a team-best seven game-winning goals, all in matches decided by two goals or less.

Senior driver Jeff Pflueger (Santa Ana/Foothill) was tabbed for the MPSF's second team as well. One of two current Bruins to score in a previous NCAA Final Four, Pflueger has double-digit goal and assist totals (15 and 12, respectively). He also is tied for the team lead with 22 steals and is one of three Bruins to start all 19 matches in 2001.

Matt Flesher (Jr., Diamond Bar/Brea Olinda), UCLA's best two-way athlete, also gained a place on the All-MPSF Second Team. Flesher stands fourth on the club with 22 goals, second with 19 assists, and is tied with Pflueger for the team lead in steals (22). Flesher, a 2000 honorable mention All-American, is regarded as a gritty, tough defender with an above-average outside shot.

Sophomore driver Albert Garcia (Long Beach/Wilson) was chosen as an honorable mention selection. Garcia leads the team with 20 assists and is third with 23 goals. One of the key pieces of the Bruin offense, Garcia notched nine goals in October's NorCal Tournament and has seven multi-goal performances for the year.

Stanford, the top-ranked team all season, swept the league's top honors and placed three athletes on the first team. Freshman Tony Azevado walked away with Player of the Year honors, while Dante Dettamenti was chosen Coach of the Year. The MPSF All-Stars are chosen by a ballot of the league's coaches.

All-MPSF First Team
Tony Azevado, Stanford
Spencer Dornin, California
Nick Ellis, Stanford (GK)
Peter Hudnut, Stanford
Daniel Lontay, USC
Chris Segesman, Long Beach St.
Jesse Smith, Pepperdine
Alfonso Tucay, UCLA

All-MPSF Second Team
Ivan Babic, USC
Attila Banhidy, California
Brandon Brooks, UCLA (GK)
Predrag Damjanov, USC
Matt Flesher, UCLA
Greg Lonzo, Pepperdine
Brett Ormsby, UCLA
Jeff Pflueger, UCLA

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events