Jordan Farmar A Mid-Season Candidate For The Naismith Trophy

Feb. 13, 2006

ATLANTA (Feb. 13, 2006) - Thirty of the country's top collegiate men's basketball players, including UCLA sophomore point guard Jordan Farmar, were named as mid-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men's and women's players of the year.

The Top 30 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season. The list was narrowed down from the pre-season list of 50 candidates who were announced at the beginning of the season. Farmar is now on the Mid-Season lists of the Naismith Trophy and Wooden Award, both honoring the nation's top collegiate player.

"This year's field of potential winners is beginning to come into shape," said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president. "As we head into the stretch run of the season and approach tournament time, I'd expect many of these young men to show why they deserve to be considered for the Naismith Trophy."

Cingular Wireless, the nation's largest wireless carrier, will again give fans an influential voice in selecting this year's winner. Fan voting, through the power and ease of text messaging, will account for 25% of the selection process once the four finalists are announced. This program sets the standard for integrating fans into the voting process and providing them with more input than with any other major collegiate sports award

"The Naismith Trophy is special not only because it represents the best player in the country, but because it also allows college basketball fans an unprecedented voice in determining the winner," said David Garver, Executive Director of High Growth Segments and Sponsorships at Cingular Wireless. "This is a very talented group of nominees and Cingular is excited to once again present the award and help recognize the most outstanding players in college basketball."

Beginning February 11, CBS Sports' "CINGULAR AT THE HALF" will feature a weekly Naismith Trophy Watch highlighting the players in contention. These players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March when four finalists for the award are announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors. The Naismith Trophy winner will be named at the NCAA Final Four in Indianapolis.

The mid-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

2005-2006 Top 30 Men's Mid-Season Candidates

Hassan Adams6'4"Sr.GuardArizona
Maurice Ager6'5"Sr.GuardMichigan State
Josh Boone6'10"Jr.F/CConnecticut
Dee Brown6'0"Sr.GuardIllinois
Shannon Brown6'4"Jr.GuardMichigan State
Greg Brunner6'7"Sr.ForwardIowa
Nik Caner-Medley6'8"Sr.ForwardMaryland
Rodney Carney6'7"Sr.ForwardMemphis
Paul Davis6'11"Sr.CenterMichigan State
Glen Davis6'9"So.ForwardLouisiana State
Jordan Farmar6'2"So.GuardUCLA
Nick Fazekas6'11"Jr.ForwardNevada
Mike Gansey6'4"Sr.ForwardWest Virginia
Rudy Gay6'9"So.ForwardConnecticut
Daniel Gibson6'2"So.GuardTexas
Taj Gray6'9"Sr.ForwardOklahoma
Carl Krauser6'2"Sr.GuardPittsburgh
Gerry McNamara6'2"Sr.GuardSyracuse
Paul Millsap6'8"Jr.ForwardLouisiana Tech
Adam Morrison6'8"Jr.ForwardGonzaga
Kevin Pittsnogle6'11"Sr.CenterWest Virginia
Rajon Rondo6'1"So.GuardKentucky
Allan Ray6'2"Sr.GuardVillanova
Brandon Roy6'6"Sr.GuardWashington
J.J Redick6'4"Sr.GuardDuke
Craig Smith6'7"Sr.ForwardBoston College
P.J. Tucker6'5"Jr.ForwardTexas
Alando Tucker6'5"Sr.ForwardWisconsin
Darius Washington6'2"So.GuardMemphis
Shelden Williams6'9"Sr.ForwardDuke

Last year's Naismith Trophy recipient was University of Utah center Andrew Bogut. Other notable men's college player of the year winners include UCLA great Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing and Christian Laettner. For more information, visit


The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club has presented the Naismith Trophy since Bruin great Lew Alcindor (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) first won the first award in 1969.

The Naismith Awards program has become an emblem of excellence for the game, recognizing the Men's and Women's College Player of the Year, Men's and Women's Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and overall contribution to the game.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
Wednesday, Nov 25 - TBA PST
vs. Vanderbilt or Wake ...
Lahaina, HI
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA