The 2000-2001 Pac-10 Men's Basketball Title Hunt

March 2, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - A win by Stanford over UCLA on Saturday would clinch at least a share of the Pac-10 championship for the Cardinal. In the event of a tie for the Pac-10 title, co-champions would exist. The Pac-10 tie-breaker is only used to determine the automatic qualifier for the NCAA Tournament, and not a sole Pac-10 champion.

If UCLA defeats Stanford, and both teams win their final two games next week, the two schools would share the Pac-10 title as co-champions. Using the Pac-10 tie-breaker (head-to-head competition), UCLA would receive the Pac-10's automatic berth in the NCAA Tournament. If UCLA wins out and Stanford loses to either Arizona State or Arizona, the Bruins would win the title outright. UCLA has already defeated Stanford in its earlier meeting this season at Stanford.

What about Arizona? Arizona not only has a shot for at least a share of the Pac-10 championship, but could win the title outright. In order to win the title outright, Arizona would need to win out, Stanford would have to lose its last three, and UCLA would need to defeat Stanford and lose both games in Washington next week. Two scenarios exist for Arizona to share the title. 1) Arizona win's out, Stanford loses to UCLA and Arizona, and UCLA would need to defeat Stanford and lose one of its games in Washington. Or, 2) Arizona would need two wins (one must be over Stanford), Stanford would have to lose its last three, and UCLA would have defeat Stanford and lose both games in Washington.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Nov 23 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
Tuesday, Nov 24 - TBA PST
vs. Kansas or Chaminade
Lahaina, HI
Wednesday, Nov 25 - TBA PST
vs. Maui Jim Maui ...
Lahaina, HI
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA