Five Bruin Men Pick Up NCAA Qualifying Marks at Tyson Invitational

Feb. 13, 2005

Five UCLA men picked up NCAA provisional qualifying marks at the Tyson Indoor Invitational in Fayetteville, AR on Saturday. The Bruins were led by a first place finish by Martell Munguia, who ran a qualifying time of 1:49.22 in the 800m.

Jake Knight and John Caulfield threw qualifying marks in the shot put, as Knight threw a season-best 60-1 to place fourth and Caulfield threw 59-4.25 to finish fifth. Yoo Kim placed fifth in the pole vault with a qualifying mark of 17-4.50, but has already jumped an automatic 18-1 (Husky Invite, 1/29/05). Rounding out the NCAA qualifiers on Saturday was Craig Everhart who placed sixth in the 400m in a time of 47.20.

Michael Johnson, Jr. had an impressive meet, placing second in the triple jump with an indoor-best of 50-1.75. Erik Emilsson placed second in the 3000m (8:17.79), while Jon Rankin, running in a separate section of the 3000m, placed 12th in a time of 8:24.81.

The men's track and field team will be off for two weeks as they prepare for the MPSF Indoor Championships Feb. 25-26 in Seattle, WA.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, May 07
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
-
Sunday, May 08
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, May 14
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Sunday, May 15
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Thursday, May 26
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Suspended
Friday, May 27
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Saturday, May 28
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Recap
Wednesday, Jun 08
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Thursday, Jun 09
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
Friday, Jun 10
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
-
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS