UCLA'S Greco, Kaczmarski Invited To USA Basketball Camp

May 5, 2000

Colorado Springs, Colo. - UCLA guards Michelle Greco (La Crescenta, CA/Crescenta Valley HS) and Nicole Kaczmarski (Middle Island, NY/Sachem HS) were invited to attend the 2000 USA Basketball Women's Summer Development Camp/R. William Jones Cup Team Trials May 17-22 in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Greco, a 5-9 sophomore, averaged 9.2 points and 3.2 rebounds in 1999-2000. An honorable mention All-Pac-10 selection, she led the team with 58 steals and a free-throw percentage of .864 (38-44) and also ranked second with 60 assists.

Kaczmarski, a 5-11 freshman, was UCLA's second-leading scorer with an 11.7 average. She also averaged 3.7 rebounds and totaled 55 assists while leading the team in three-point field goals made (36). Kaczmarski earned first-team Pac-10 All-Freshman acclaim.

The USA Basketball Jones Cup squad will be coached by Virginia Tech head mentor Bonnie Henrickson, who served as an assistant coach on the gold medal winning 1999 USA Basketball Women's World University Games squad. St. Joseph's head coach Stephanie Gaitley and Grambling State head coach David "Rusty" Ponton have been slated as assistant coaches for the Jones Cup team.

The 12-member U.S. squad, which will be announced on May 22, will train July 3-12 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado, before departing on July 13 for the Jones Cup competition, which will be held July 16-20 in Taipei, Taiwan. The United States, the defending Jones Cup gold medalists, has collected eight gold medals, four silver medals and four bronze medals in 18 Jones Cup competitions and boasts a 110-22 (83.3 %) overall record.

The USA Basketball R. William Jones Cup Team will reassemble on Aug. 29 in Honolulu, Hawaii, to begin training for a Sept. 3 exhibition game with the U.S. Women's Senior National Team. The contest, held at the University of Hawaii, will be nationally televised at 5:00 p.m. (EST) on ESPN2 and will be the final domestic exhibition game for the USA National Team before it leaves for Australia to continue preparations for the 2000 Olympics in Sydney, Australia.

Among those included on the 2000 USA Basketball Women's Development Camp / Jones Cup Trials roster are UCSB's Erin Buescher, Honda Award winner Shea Ralph and her NCAA Championship teammates Sue Bird and Kelly Schumacher, Pepperdine's Rasheeda Clark, and NCAA scoring leader Jackie Stiles of Southwest Missouri State.

Following is the full 2000 USA Basketball Women's Development Camp / Jones Cup Trials roster: Chantelle Anderson (Vanderbilt / Vancouver, Wash.), Tombi Bell (Florida / Miami, Fla.), Sue Bird (Connecticut / Syosset, N.Y.), Erin Buescher (UC Santa Barbara / Rohnert Park, Calif.), Damita Bullock (UT-Chattanooga / Harrisburg, Pa.), Diana Caramanico (Pennsylvania / Blue Bell, Pa.), LaNeisha Caufield (Oklahoma / Ada, Okla.), Kaayla Chones (North Carolina State / Pepper Pike, Ohio), Rasheeda Clark (Pepperdine / Ontario, Calif.), Camille Cooper (Purdue / Georgetown, Ky.), Allison Curtin (Illinois / Stonington, IL), Marie Ferdinand (Louisiana State / Miami, Fla.), Catrina Frierson (Louisiana Tech / Vicksburg, MS), Michelle Greco (UCLA / LaCrescenta, Calif.), Deanna Jackson (Alabama-Birmingham / Birmingham, Ala.), Nicole Kaczmarski (UCLA / Middle Island, N.Y.), Schuye LaRue (Virginia / Washington, D.C.), Erica Lawrence (George Washington / Nyack, N.Y.), ShaRae Mansfield (Western Kentucky / Louisville, Ky.), Brandi McCain (Florida / Silsbee, Texas ), Carolyn Moos (Stanford / Wayzata, Minn.), Jenny Mowe (Oregon / Powers, Ore.), Lori Nero (Auburn / Baton Rouge, La.), Loree Payne (Washington / Livingston, Mont.), Jennifer Phillips (Xavier / Elida, Ohio), Plenette Pierson (Texas Tech / Houston, Texas ), Telisha Quarles (Virginia / Charlottesville, Va.), Felicia Ragland (Oregon State / Tulare, Calif.), Shea Ralph (Connecticut / Fayetteville, N.C .), Alicia Ratay (Notre Dame / Lake Zurich, Ill.), Jenny Roulier (Colorado / Englewood, Colo.), Kelly Schumacher (Connecticut / Quyon, Canada), Sabrina Scott (Colorado / Lake Oswego, Ore.), Lisa Shepherd (Penn State/ Richmond, Ind.), Amy Simpson (North Carolina State / Reidsville, N.C.), Michelle Snow (Tennessee / Pensacola, Fla.), Jackie Stiles (Southwest Missouri State / Claflin, Kan.), Jesse Stomski (Wisconsin / Oakdale, Minn.), Ayana Walker (Louisiana Tech / Houston, Texas), Maren Walseth (Penn State / Bloomington, Minn.), Shaquala Williams (Oregon / Portland, Ore.), Tere Williams (Virginia Tech / Chapel Hill, N.C.), Lindsey Wilson (Iowa State / Seattle, Wash.), Brooke Wyckoff (Florida State / West Chester, Ohio) and Angela Zampella (St. Joseph's / Hoboken, N.J.).

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events