No. 7 Bruins Defeated by No. 2 Stanford, 6-1

April 5, 2003

Results

Los Angeles - The No. 7 UCLA women's tennis team fell to No. 2 Stanford on Saturday afternoon at the Los Angeles Tennis Center, 6-1. Stanford (15-1, 3-0 Pac-10) swept the doubles and took five of the six singles matches, despite No. 23 Jackie Carleton's win over No. 16 Lauren Barnikow. The Bruins (12-7, 3-1) will now head into their last four conference games against the Washington schools before a rematch with Stanford and Cal in two weeks.

At the first doubles position, the No. 2 doubles team in the nation, Barnikow and Erin Burdette, defeated Laura Gordon and Sara Walker, 8-4. No. 48 Alice Barnes and Amber Liu beat Sarah Gregg and Susi Wild 8-2, while Emilia Anderson and Story Tweedie-Yates knocked off Carleton and Anya Loncaric, 8-5.

Carleton secured a point for the Bruins with her 6-3, 3-6, 6-4 win over Barnikow. The Bruins have yet to be shut out in 2003, and have not been blanked since April 8, 2001, against Stanford.

On court one, No. 10 Walker fell to No. 48 Liu, 6-0, 7-5, while No. 37 Burdette beat No. 58 Wild, 6-1, 6-3 on court three. At the fourth singles spot, No. 4 Barnes defeated UCLA's Feriel Esseghir 6-4, 7-6(5). On court five, Anderson beat Gregg 7-6(7), 6-1, and Gordon fell to Tweedie-Yates 4-6, 6-0, 6-3.

The Bruins will face Washington State in Pullman at noon on Friday, April 11, and Washington in Seattle on Saturday, April 12, also at noon.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS