NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
Axelrad Honored at 2003 Men's Water Polo Banquet

Jan. 20, 2004

Junior goalkeeper Joseph Axelrad (Studio City/Harvard-Westlake) was honored at the 2003 Men's Water Polo Banquet on Sunday with both of the year's highest awards.

Axelrad was the recipient of the Dr. James Puffer Award for Loyalty and Contribution. Given annually to the player whose loyalty to his teammates goes unmatched, the award is decided on by the coaching staff. It also signifies his strong contribution to the program; in the water, in the classroom and in the community.

Axelrad was also honored with the Jack Bariteau Jr. "Most Inspirational" Award, which is decided on by the team. It is given to the player who has earned the greatest respect of his peers through his inspirational play and daily work ethic.

Both of these awards were started at the 2001 banquet. That year, Jon Puffer and Jeff Pflueger were the recipients of the Dr. Puffer award, while Brandon Brooks won it in 2002. Alfonso Tucay was the inaugural recipient of the Jack Bariteau Jr. award, while Matt Flesher was honored by his teammates last season.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events