Baseball Travels to #2 Cal State Fullerton for Make-up Game

April 15, 2003

Tentative Lineup
1B Wes Whisler (6-5, 227, L/L, So.) Tied for team lead with 46 hits.
2B Preston Griffin (5-11, 184, R/R, Jr.) Set new career-high w/6 RBI vs. UCR.
SS Ryan McCarthy (6-3, 180, R/R, So.) Hit two doubles vs. Wichita St. (3/22)
3B Brandon Averill (6-4, 200, R/R, Jr.) Hit three home runs in Arizona series.
LF Chris Jensen (6-1, 185, L/R, So.) Hit first homer of the season at USC.
CF Matt Thayer (5-10, 173, R/L, So.) Team-high eight stolen bases.
RF Sean Carpenter (6-0, 165, R/R, Fr.) Career-high 4 RBI vs. Wichita St. (3/23)
C Chris Denove (6-1, 195, R/R, Fr.) Homered twice last week.
DH Brett McMillan (6-5, 210, L/R, Fr.) Leads team with .359 batting average.
P Daniel Miltenberger (6-0, 190, R/R, Fr.) Made first start vs. LBSU (4/8/03)

Bruins Suffer A Sweep at USC:
For the first time this season, UCLA suffered a weekend series sweep at USC.

After building a 6-2 lead on Friday night, the Bruins fell 7-6 when USC scored its winning run in the bottom of the ninth inning. Chris Denove and Preston Griffin led UCLA with two hit apiece.

In Saturday's contest, the Trojans scored in each of the first five frames to build a 7-0 lead that was too tough to overcome. Reserves Chris Jensen and Warren Trott highlighted the Bruin attack recording two hits each after entering the game in the fourth inning.

UCLA started hot on Sunday posting a run in each of the first three innings and two in the fourth. However, the powerful Trojan bats hit three home runs to drive in five of its eight runs to take the final game of the series. Denove and Jensen both homered for the Bruins, while Griffin and Brett McMillan each had three hits in the contest.

About Cal State Fullerton...
The second-ranked Titans enter the weekend with a 30-8, 5-1 in Big West action record after taking two of three last weekend from Cal State Northridge. Cal State Fullerton is undefeated at home this season, with a 18-0 mark.

Head Coach George Horton is in his seventh year as the head coach of the Titans, with a 259-116-1 mark heading into the season. In his career, he has posted a 10-2 record against the Bruins, including a 8-1 victory earlier this year.

Top Players
Danny Dorn (Fr., OF) .393, 5 HR, 45 RBI - Diamond Bar, CA (Diamond Bar HS)
Shane Costa (Jr., OF) .329, 4 HR, 37 RBI - Visalia, CA (Golden West HS)
Sergio Pedroza (Fr., OF) .378, 4 HR, 22 RBI - Covina, CA (Northview HS)
Ronnie Prettyman (So., INF) .367, 10 SB, 21 RBI - Los Alamitos, CA (Cerritos College)
Kyle Boyer (Jr., OF) .356, 3 HR, 31 RBI - Temecula, CA (Temecula Valley HS)
Richie Burgos (So., INF) .348, 2 HR, 25 RBI - Glendora, CA (Bishop Amat HS)

Starting Pitcher
Darric Merill (Jr., RHP) 3.86 ERA, 2-0 - Temecula, CA (Temecula Valley HS)


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS