Baseball Travels to #2 Cal State Fullerton for Make-up Game

April 15, 2003

Tentative Lineup
1B Wes Whisler (6-5, 227, L/L, So.) Tied for team lead with 46 hits.
2B Preston Griffin (5-11, 184, R/R, Jr.) Set new career-high w/6 RBI vs. UCR.
SS Ryan McCarthy (6-3, 180, R/R, So.) Hit two doubles vs. Wichita St. (3/22)
3B Brandon Averill (6-4, 200, R/R, Jr.) Hit three home runs in Arizona series.
LF Chris Jensen (6-1, 185, L/R, So.) Hit first homer of the season at USC.
CF Matt Thayer (5-10, 173, R/L, So.) Team-high eight stolen bases.
RF Sean Carpenter (6-0, 165, R/R, Fr.) Career-high 4 RBI vs. Wichita St. (3/23)
C Chris Denove (6-1, 195, R/R, Fr.) Homered twice last week.
DH Brett McMillan (6-5, 210, L/R, Fr.) Leads team with .359 batting average.
P Daniel Miltenberger (6-0, 190, R/R, Fr.) Made first start vs. LBSU (4/8/03)

Bruins Suffer A Sweep at USC:
For the first time this season, UCLA suffered a weekend series sweep at USC.

After building a 6-2 lead on Friday night, the Bruins fell 7-6 when USC scored its winning run in the bottom of the ninth inning. Chris Denove and Preston Griffin led UCLA with two hit apiece.

In Saturday's contest, the Trojans scored in each of the first five frames to build a 7-0 lead that was too tough to overcome. Reserves Chris Jensen and Warren Trott highlighted the Bruin attack recording two hits each after entering the game in the fourth inning.

UCLA started hot on Sunday posting a run in each of the first three innings and two in the fourth. However, the powerful Trojan bats hit three home runs to drive in five of its eight runs to take the final game of the series. Denove and Jensen both homered for the Bruins, while Griffin and Brett McMillan each had three hits in the contest.

About Cal State Fullerton...
The second-ranked Titans enter the weekend with a 30-8, 5-1 in Big West action record after taking two of three last weekend from Cal State Northridge. Cal State Fullerton is undefeated at home this season, with a 18-0 mark.

Head Coach George Horton is in his seventh year as the head coach of the Titans, with a 259-116-1 mark heading into the season. In his career, he has posted a 10-2 record against the Bruins, including a 8-1 victory earlier this year.

Top Players
Danny Dorn (Fr., OF) .393, 5 HR, 45 RBI - Diamond Bar, CA (Diamond Bar HS)
Shane Costa (Jr., OF) .329, 4 HR, 37 RBI - Visalia, CA (Golden West HS)
Sergio Pedroza (Fr., OF) .378, 4 HR, 22 RBI - Covina, CA (Northview HS)
Ronnie Prettyman (So., INF) .367, 10 SB, 21 RBI - Los Alamitos, CA (Cerritos College)
Kyle Boyer (Jr., OF) .356, 3 HR, 31 RBI - Temecula, CA (Temecula Valley HS)
Richie Burgos (So., INF) .348, 2 HR, 25 RBI - Glendora, CA (Bishop Amat HS)

Starting Pitcher
Darric Merill (Jr., RHP) 3.86 ERA, 2-0 - Temecula, CA (Temecula Valley HS)


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS