Baseball Falls to Oklahoma at Kia Bash, 7-2

March 4, 2005

Box Score

FULLERTON, Calif. - After taking an early 2-0 lead, UCLA surrendered seven unanswered runs from the fifth inning on as the Bruins fell to Oklahoma 7-2, Friday night in the opening game of this weekend's Kia Baseball Bash at Goodwin Field in Fullerton. UCLA starter Hector Ambriz held the Sooners hitless through four innings but wildness struck in the fifth and Oklahoma pounded out eight hits against four different UCLA relievers over the games final four innings en route to its eighth straight victory.

UCLA (7-7) has now lost three in a row for the first time this season and has fallen to .500 for the first time since February 6.

Oklahoma reliever Will Savage (2-1) picked up the win with a stellar relief performance for the Sooners. After entering in the fifth with runners on the first and second, the right-hander induced Mike Metzger into an inning-ending double play and then went on to retire ten of the final 13 batters he faced.

UCLA jumped out to an early 2-0 lead thanks to Oklahoma starting pitcher John Brownell's erratic start. A bases loaded balk and Metzger's two-out RBI single gave the Bruins the early advantage in the first. Because of the rain delay, Brownell was called upon to start in place of scheduled Sooner starter Garrett Patterson just 30 minutes prior to first pitch. Patterson had warmed up earlier in the afternoon in preparation of the 3:15 start time.

Oklahoma got on the board in both the hits and runs column in the fifth as Ambriz began to struggle himself. With Eric Thornton on second after walking and advancing on a ground out, Ryan Rollinger delivered the Sooners' first hit of the evening in the form of an RBI double to left-center. Ambriz would walk two more batters but would eventually get Chuckie Caulfield to ground into an inning-ending fielder's choice with the bases loaded.

The Sooners got to reliever and eventual loser Brian Schroeder (0-1) in the seventh as center fielder Jeff Scuderi delivered a two-out RBI double to deep left-center scoring Freddy Rodriguez from first to knot the game at two. Right-hander Daniel Miltenberger then entered and allowed Caulfield's go-ahead, RBI base hit. Sooner second baseman Russell Raley then chimed in with an RBI base hit of his own to give Oklahoma a 4-2 lead.

Ambriz allowed just one run on one hit over five innings while walking four and striking out three.

Junior Brett McMillan snapped his nine-game hitting streak after finishing 0-for-3 with a run scored.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 19
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 14
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 10
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 14 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 17 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS