Team Prime Time Visits The Bruins

March 12, 2002

  • Photo Gallery

    On Tuesday, February 12, students from the Team Prime Time after-school program at Daniel Webster Middle School came to UCLA for a visit with the Bruins. The group toured the UCLA campus and met with members of the men's basketball team prior to practice. Head Coach Steve Lavin and Bruin senior Billy Knight answered questions on the floor of Pauley Pavilion, while other students received shooting tips from sophomore T.J. Cummings.

    A sneak peek of the locker room followed where staff member Dana Martin reviewed the Bruin Attitude, a code of conduct created by Lavin to encourage the members of his team to be better student-athletes. The 23 points, displayed in capitol letters just inside the locker room, are an integral part of the team's mental conditioning and are emphasized every day. While Martin explained the significance of each point, Team Prime Time program director Peter Straus asked the students to reflect upon how each point could relate to their own lives.

    The group concluded their day with a visit to UCLA's Drake Stadium where they met with Head Women's Track & Field Coach Jeanette Bolden and Head Women's Soccer Coach Jillian Ellis who visited the group last October.

    Team Prime Time is an after school program that targets children performing below grade level and creates individualized tutorial programs in an effort to increase their academic performance. Athletics has proven to be a powerful tool for improving children's self-esteem, fostering teamwork and teaching skills that children can use on and off the court. Members of the UCLA Athletics community have gladly assisted in these efforts and look forward to continuing the relationship with Team Prime Time.

    UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
    Friday, Oct 30
    vs. Cal State Los ...
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 95 - 57
    Friday, Nov 13
    vs. Monmouth
    Los Angeles, CA
    L, 81 - 84 (OT)
    Sunday, Nov 15
    vs. Cal Poly
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 88 - 83
    Thursday, Nov 19
    vs. Pepperdine
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 81 - 67
    Monday, Nov 23
    vs. UNLV
    Lahaina, HI
    W, 77 - 75
    Tuesday, Nov 24
    vs. Kansas
    Lahaina, HI
    L, 73 - 92
    Wednesday, Nov 25
    vs. Wake Forest
    Lahaina, HI
    L, 77 - 80
    Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
    vs. CSUN
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
    vs. Kentucky
    Los Angeles, CA
    Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
    vs. Long Beach State
    Los Angeles, CA
    Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
    at Gonzaga
    Spokane, WA
    Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
    vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
    Los Angeles, CA
    Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
    vs. North Carolina
    Brooklyn, NY
    Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
    vs. McNeese State
    Los Angeles, CA
    Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
    at Washington
    Seattle, WA
    Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
    at Washington State
    Pullman, WA
    Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
    vs. Arizona
    Los Angeles, CA
    Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
    vs. Arizona State
    Los Angeles, CA
    Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
    vs. USC
    Los Angeles, CA
    Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
    at Oregon State
    Corvallis, OR
    Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
    at Oregon
    Eugene, OR
    Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
    vs. Washington
    Los Angeles, CA
    Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
    vs. Washington State
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
    at USC
    Los Angeles, CA
    Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
    at Arizona
    Tucson, AZ
    Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
    at Arizona State
    Tempe, AZ
    Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
    vs. Utah
    Los Angeles, CA
    Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
    vs. Colorado
    Los Angeles, CA