Nana Meriwether Named Pac-10 Women's Volleyball Player of the Week

Nov. 7, 2005

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - UCLA middle blocker Nana Meriwether has been named Pac-10 Volleyball Player of the Week for Oct. 31 - Nov. 6, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Meriwether, a junior from Potomac, Md., hit .442 in wins over Oregon State and Oregon, collecting 29 kills in 52 attempts with just six errors. She ranks fourth in the league with a .376 hitting percentage. Meriwether also posted a career-high 16 total blocks in the Bruins' five-game vitory at Oregon. Her eight solo blocks in the match tie a UCLA single-match record, while her 16 total blocks are just one shy of the school record.

Meriwether's eight solo blocks also tie her for fourth in the Pac-10 record book, and her 16 total blocks tie her for eighth on the single-match best performance list. She leads the Conference in blocks average with 1.63 blocks per game.

No. 21 UCLA (13-8, 6-6) will travel to Pepperdine on Tues., Nov. 8, before hosting the Washington schools this weekend. The Bruins will face the Cougars on Fri., Nov. 11 and the No. 2 Huskies on Sat., Nov. 12.

This is Meriwether's first weekly honor and UCLA's 47th Player of the Week honor all-time.

The Bruins return to action with a non-conference match at Pepperdine on Tuesday night before returning to Pauley Pavilion to face Washington State and Washington on Friday and Saturday nights, respectively. All three matches start at 7 pm.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS